![]() |
|
|||
JRut-
Okay, if not about trust, I guess I'm not sure what your point is. I agree that ultimately, it's our butts in the ringer. Out here, assignors expect us to include table crews in our decision making process when the outcome of the game is on the line. We tell them in locker-room pre-games, "you're part of our crew. bring information if it can prevent a mistake". Whether we exhausted all options in an effort to "get it right" when we kick one is often the teaching point. Perhaps a regional, philosophical difference? Conspiracy theories, media or fan accusations, etc. are not factors I consider when ruling on plays. Didn't see the play you mentioned. Besides, I'm a NFC fan...and am still in mourning for my Niners collapse! Peace, as well.
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
The rule book states shot-clock operators duties are to reset when ball hits ring or flange. Sometimes that involves their judgement.
Let's imagine you're the L, I'm C. A1 drives to basket a bit out of control from my primary, attempts to draw foul from B1 while throwing up a prayer. Players contact in lane, both end up on floor, we deem marginal contact (no fouls), and missed shot leads to tie up in key. We close with jump ball mechanic. Possession arrow with Team A (visitors). We look up and see the shot clock has been reset. Our trail comes in and says "hey, guys, I'm not sure that ball hit the rim, but I really don't have definitive knowledge. Did either of you see ball hit rim?" I got nothing. You say you have nothing. Would you go to the shot-clock operator and tell them to return shot clock to the point of jump ball because our crew didn't see ball hit rim? Or do you ask the shot-clock operator "did you reset it because you're positive it hit rim?" and go with the reset if the answer is "yes". I understand the idea of living and dying with what we see/don't see, so I'm honestly good either way. You're the crew chief, so what do we have?
__________________
Trust your partners, but trust yourself more. Training, experience and intuition are your currency. |
|
|||
Well if I am a crew chief I want my fellow officials to do their jobs. They make calls based on what they see and if I did not see something I am going with their judgment. If they missed something, they miss something. Then again I usually work with people that offer some opinion or would know either way. This is why this play is kind of shocking to me and probably others. I cannot believe that no one saw this play considering a shot hitting the rim is a normal look for officials at the college level. Even the Lead can see that even slightly. And with the horn someone I would think notice the situation. You have to before the play be aware of the disparity in the clock and the shot clock and know that a shot might be something you have to be aware of with the game on the line. I guess what I am saying is going to the table should not be an "out" to make you feel better if you miss something that is your job.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
He also said that when they got together they were discussing two things: whether the original shot hit the rim, and whether the final shot was before the final horn. Then he said that when they pulled the coaches together, they explained the situation to them (much like you can see from the video). Here's the kicker though... the trail on the play said that the visiting coach never even asked whether or not the original shot hit the rim! That was never in question from the coaches. They were only worried about the last shot leaving the shooter's hands before the final horn. In my opinion, the C HAS to have an idea as to whether the shot hits the rim or not. The L can have some idea, but I'm not putting that on him... Like I said, I'm hearing this second-hand, but it came from a very reliable source... and I will be working with one of the officials on this game this coming Thursday. If I find anything else out, I will be sure to let you all know. |
|
|||
Quote:
We've all not know for sure whether a shot hit the rim when it's taken with, say, 15 seconds left. But, the outside officials need to get it when the shot is taken with the clock about to expire. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Well, I spoke with the trail on the play this past week and here what he had to say:
In summary, he still believes that while he was on the court, the ball definitely hit the rim and came straight down to the offensive player. He said that they angle he had when the shot was taken, he couldn't have come out with anything on this play as to him it looked like the ball did hit the rim. He then said that after that happened, they let the game continue and finish with the basket being counted to end the game. After the final horn sounded, he (along with the other two officials) noticed that there was great confusion going on between the benches and players, so they had to get together to have a little conversation. The L on the play (who was also the R), lead the discussion and asked about two things: did the first shot hit the rim, and did the last shot leave the shooter's hand prior to the final horn sounding. While on the court, all three believed that the first shot did hit the rim, so they thought they solved that problem easily. Then they discussed the final shot. Most of the discussion in the pow wow was about the final shot. When they made their decision about the final shot, they got the coaches together, discussed what they were going to rule, and counted the basket. Game over. After they got into the locker room, the C on the play started to rethink how things had played out on the floor. She said that she, "thinks [she] let them down." This is in regards to the original shot not hitting the rim. The T on the play confirmed to her that they made the right call, and that there was nothing to worry about. However, a fellow official (who had seen the video) called the T on the play on his way home and told him that they missed the call. S*** happens. Then, he pulled out 8 8X12 still pictures of the video, and he showed me that the ball did in fact miss the rim. He said that he's carried them in his bag since he's been able to see the video. Definitely misses the rim by no less than 3" on the pictures. He definitely has spent some time thinking about this play. He then brought something to my attention which I hadn't noticed before. If you watch the video, you will see that the C on the play never signals the final shot good or no good, and she doesn't even have a whistle to end the half/game. Basically, the T on the play said that she got, "caught up in the moment" and failed to keep her concentration at that point of the game. Needless to say, this is one play that was badly missed, and all three of them now know it. However, its time to learn from it and move on. Bottom line, you have to have high concentration, and make high certainty calls near the end of games... especially if it is a close game. If anyone has anymore questions about this play, let me know and I'll give you more information if I have it. |
|
|||
Ok-this looks like a clear cut violation on tape.I want to address Rut's comments about the table and having a vested outcome in the game.As a table crew our first obligation is to the proper administration of the game regardless of outcome and that is a guideline myself and the student scorers who work for me follow to the letter.If this is our game we'll give help if asked to the best of our abilities based on this section of the NFHS Timer's instructions:
4. If a quarter or extra period ends and: a. The timer has been unable to make an official hear the signal, the timer must immediately notify the official. b. The timing signal fails or is not heard by an official, the timer must be prepared to advise the referee as to whether the ball was in flight when time expired, or whether a foul occurred before or after the period had ended. c. The timing signal is not heard by the officials, testimony of the timer may determine whether a score shall count or a foul shall be charged, unless the referee has information which would alter the situation. If that help leads to my officials getting it right and us losing a game then so be it.jeschmit-it doesn't even look like the crew talked about this play with their table crew and asked for their help.Is that assumption correct from what you have heard? Last edited by SCalScoreKeeper; Sat Feb 04, 2012 at 11:10pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Inexcusable if you ask me.
With a stoppage at that juncture the crew should have been communicating how much time was left on the shot and game clocks. I'm not well versed in NCAA mechanics. In FIBA, the outside officials have responsibility for the flight of the ball and related issues. That being said, with such an egregious error the lead should have stepped up. Rarely do the officials cost a team the game but in this case they did. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
I Was Terrible... | bc7 | Basketball | 14 | Mon Apr 13, 2009 07:37am |
Possession awareness | OHBBREF | Basketball | 8 | Fri Dec 12, 2008 01:17pm |
A terrible tragedy | greymule | Softball | 6 | Thu Jul 26, 2007 03:02pm |
Awareness / Game Management | JWig | Baseball | 2 | Fri Jan 13, 2006 01:02pm |
Game Awareness | Luv4Asian8 | Basketball | 13 | Fri Jan 16, 2004 02:55pm |