View Single Post
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2012, 09:35am
jeschmit jeschmit is offline
Eschew obfuscation.
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
It's clear: the crew wouldn't have been able to use the monitor in this situation to deal with the shot-clock issue. A fellow official of mine e-mailed Debbie Williamson from the NCAA and she said it appeared the crew judged there was no shot-clock violation twice: once when the play happened and once again when they huddled after time expired.
I have yet to speak with the official directly, but I worked a game this past weekend where this play came up in discussion. One of my partners from Saturday said that he spoke with the trail on this play, and said that he was "beating himself up" over this play. My partner said that the trail said that he had no angle on whether or not the shot hit the rim due to the fact that he was watching the shooter come back to the floor after taking her shot.

He also said that when they got together they were discussing two things: whether the original shot hit the rim, and whether the final shot was before the final horn. Then he said that when they pulled the coaches together, they explained the situation to them (much like you can see from the video).

Here's the kicker though... the trail on the play said that the visiting coach never even asked whether or not the original shot hit the rim! That was never in question from the coaches. They were only worried about the last shot leaving the shooter's hands before the final horn.

In my opinion, the C HAS to have an idea as to whether the shot hits the rim or not. The L can have some idea, but I'm not putting that on him...

Like I said, I'm hearing this second-hand, but it came from a very reliable source... and I will be working with one of the officials on this game this coming Thursday. If I find anything else out, I will be sure to let you all know.
Reply With Quote