The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 12:36pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Mission Impossible???

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Had a shot that went up over the back board and came to rest on top. Use AP or just treat as OOB to resume play? Thanks!
Having trouble visualizing . . .

If it "went up over the back board", that would be a violation.
If it "came to rest on top", that would result in an AP throw-in.

But how could the second happen after the first? Did it strike a brace or support on the other side of the backboard or something?

Either way, it sounds like a violation happened. 7-1-2b.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call

Last edited by Freddy; Sat Jan 14, 2012 at 12:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
It probably came to rest on both the top and against some support....which would make it OOB.

If not, and it just came to rest on just the top, by rule, there is no violation and there is no AP (coming to rest on the flange is an AP since it would be basket interference to touch the ball, but not the top of the board). Time will expire in the quarter unless a player had enough hops to go knock it down or some gust of wind comes along to knock it down.

But, I think I'd apply rule 2-3 on this one to declare it a held ball. Or, you could blow your whistle, declare it an inadvertent whistle, then end up in a held ball just the same.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 01:01pm
Ok is the new good
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Having trouble visualizing . . .

If it "went up over the back board", that would be a violation.
If it "came to rest on top", that would result in an AP throw-in.

But how could the second happen after the first? Did it strike a brace or support on the other side of the backboard or something?

Either way, it sounds like a violation happened. 7-1-2b.
Sorry..Ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..Jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and I had a disagreement..I called AP and he treated as OOB. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on OOB and not AP.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Sorry..Ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..Jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and I had a disagreement..I called AP and he treated as OOB. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on OOB and not AP.

Thanks
I thought it would be incredibly difficult for a ball to come to rest only on the top edge of the board. They could make the boards to make is impossible (rounded or sloped top) but it is so unlikely, that would be unnecessary.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 08:37pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I thought it would be incredibly difficult for a ball to come to rest only on the top edge of the board. They could make the boards to make is impossible (rounded or sloped top) but it is so unlikely, that would be unnecessary.

Camron:

Lets assume that the ball actually comes to rest on the top of the backboard and is not touching anything OOB, but the ball came to be there from a Throw-in and not a Field Goal Attempt. Would you treat this the same as a Throw-in that wedges between the rim, flange, and backboard. I am inclined to treat this the same as the Throw-in wedging between the rim, flange, and backboard.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 11:24pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I am inclined to treat this the same as the Throw-in wedging between the rim, flange, and backboard.MTD, Sr.
Around here, anytime the ball gets stuck that way we call it a "wedgie".
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 11:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Camron:

Lets assume that the ball actually comes to rest on the top of the backboard and is not touching anything OOB, but the ball came to be there from a Throw-in and not a Field Goal Attempt. Would you treat this the same as a Throw-in that wedges between the rim, flange, and backboard. I am inclined to treat this the same as the Throw-in wedging between the rim, flange, and backboard.

MTD, Sr.
I might do so in practice but it is several feet from the flange/rim and it isn't wedged anywhere.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 11:53pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
The play currently under scrutiny is one which is not possible.

Somebody had to say it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 15, 2012, 10:42am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
The play currently under scrutiny is one which is not possible.

Somebody had to say it.

It might not be possible but it is probable.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 15, 2012, 11:23am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I might do so in practice but it is several feet from the flange/rim and it isn't wedged anywhere.

Camron:

While watching Sports Center this morning I decided to read the NFHS Basketball Rules Book (read the rules book, what a concept, I don't know why I didn't think of it earlier, ) and have come to the conclusion that we just might not have a Throw-in Violation.


To all of those reading this post, I am using the NFHS Rules but the NCAA Rules are the same except that the Sections are Article might be diffderent with the exception of R2-S3 which is the same Rule and Section in both Rules Sets.

NFHS R6-S7-A3 states: "The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when a held ball occurs, or the ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange."

NFHS R6-S7-A5 states: "An official’s whistle is blown (see exceptions a and b below)." ..... "EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.
b. Article 5 or 7 occurs while a try for a free throw is in flight."

NFHS R4-S42-A5 states: "The throw-in ends when:
a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds,
except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation."

NFHS R7-S2-A2 states: "The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched." ..... "PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot."

By rule, the ball is still Live and Team A has Team Control of the ball. One of the Game Officials can make the ball Dead by sounding his whistle. That mean's Team A's original Throw-in never ended and Team A should get the ball for a Throw-in. But that creates more problems. Normally the new Throw-in spot should be nearest the spot of the ball when it became Dead, but what if the original Throw-in was (a) an Alternating Possesion Throw-in or (b) a TF penalty. Where would the ensueing Throw-in be and in the case of (a) would this be a continuation of Team A's AP Throw-in or would Team A retain the PA for the next AP Situation?

All very good questions for discussion. Two observations: (1) There is something to be said for returning to the old rule where the throw-in had to be touched by a player on or off the court within five seconds of the start of the throw-in, meaning we ould have had a Throw-in violation by Team A; (2) go back to Jump Balls instead of AP Throw-ins, .

Which brings us back to NFHS R2-S3, and whether we can use it to solve our conondrum.

Enjoy the NFL Playoffs everybody, .

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 01:09pm
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Sorry..Ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..Jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and I had a disagreement..I called AP and he treated as OOB. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on OOB and not AP.

Thanks
By brace, do you mean something that the backboard is attached to? In that case, I'd go OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 01:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Rookie View Post
Sorry..Ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..Jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and I had a disagreement..I called AP and he treated as OOB. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on OOB and not AP.

Thanks
If the brace is some sort of support for the basket, then your partner was right.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by snaqwells View Post
if the brace is some sort of support for the basket, then your partner was right.
+1
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2012, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
7-1-2...The ball is out of bounds:...

3. The supports or back of the backboard
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 15, 2012, 01:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_rookie View Post
sorry..ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and i had a disagreement..i called ap and he treated as oob. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on oob and not ap.

Thanks
oob.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball stuck in glove Larry1953 Baseball 3 Sat Jul 02, 2011 12:02pm
Next gets stuck eastcoastref Basketball 4 Sun Mar 25, 2007 06:53pm
Stuck Net Ref Daddy Basketball 38 Fri Dec 23, 2005 08:32am
Ball stuck on last freethrow? or throw-in? bossref Basketball 4 Wed Mar 24, 2004 02:15pm
Ball stuck in backside of the cross head. RILAX Lacrosse 4 Thu Jan 22, 2004 03:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1