The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball Stuck (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85816-ball-stuck.html)

The_Rookie Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:12pm

Ball Stuck
 
Had a shot that went up over the back board and came to rest on top.

Use AP or just treat as OOB to resume play?

Thanks!

stiffler3492 Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:19pm

Wow. Never seen that happen. Just a guess here, but since the ball never went out of bounds, I can't penalize the team who touched it last.

Arrow.

Adam Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:19pm

Did the ball go OOB?

Freddy Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:36pm

Mission Impossible???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 813295)
Had a shot that went up over the back board and came to rest on top. Use AP or just treat as OOB to resume play? Thanks!

Having trouble visualizing . . .

If it "went up over the back board", that would be a violation.
If it "came to rest on top", that would result in an AP throw-in.

But how could the second happen after the first? Did it strike a brace or support on the other side of the backboard or something?

Either way, it sounds like a violation happened. 7-1-2b.

Camron Rust Sat Jan 14, 2012 01:00pm

It probably came to rest on both the top and against some support....which would make it OOB.

If not, and it just came to rest on just the top, by rule, there is no violation and there is no AP (coming to rest on the flange is an AP since it would be basket interference to touch the ball, but not the top of the board). Time will expire in the quarter unless a player had enough hops to go knock it down or some gust of wind comes along to knock it down.

But, I think I'd apply rule 2-3 on this one to declare it a held ball. Or, you could blow your whistle, declare it an inadvertent whistle, then end up in a held ball just the same.

The_Rookie Sat Jan 14, 2012 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 813303)
Having trouble visualizing . . .

If it "went up over the back board", that would be a violation.
If it "came to rest on top", that would result in an AP throw-in.

But how could the second happen after the first? Did it strike a brace or support on the other side of the backboard or something?

Either way, it sounds like a violation happened. 7-1-2b.

Sorry..Ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..Jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and I had a disagreement..I called AP and he treated as OOB. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on OOB and not AP.

Thanks

Camron Rust Sat Jan 14, 2012 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 813309)
Sorry..Ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..Jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and I had a disagreement..I called AP and he treated as OOB. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on OOB and not AP.

Thanks

I thought it would be incredibly difficult for a ball to come to rest only on the top edge of the board. They could make the boards to make is impossible (rounded or sloped top) but it is so unlikely, that would be unnecessary.

stiffler3492 Sat Jan 14, 2012 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 813309)
Sorry..Ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..Jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and I had a disagreement..I called AP and he treated as OOB. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on OOB and not AP.

Thanks

By brace, do you mean something that the backboard is attached to? In that case, I'd go OOB.

Adam Sat Jan 14, 2012 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 813309)
Sorry..Ball came to rest between the brace and top of the back board..Jammed into the corner.

I asked this question because my partner and I had a disagreement..I called AP and he treated as OOB. Blue shot the ball and it jams..he awards to white based on OOB and not AP.

Thanks

If the brace is some sort of support for the basket, then your partner was right.

TimTaylor Sat Jan 14, 2012 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by snaqwells (Post 813315)
if the brace is some sort of support for the basket, then your partner was right.

+1

Indianaref Sat Jan 14, 2012 03:16pm

7-1-2...The ball is out of bounds:...

3. The supports or back of the backboard

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Jan 14, 2012 08:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 813310)
I thought it would be incredibly difficult for a ball to come to rest only on the top edge of the board. They could make the boards to make is impossible (rounded or sloped top) but it is so unlikely, that would be unnecessary.


Camron:

Lets assume that the ball actually comes to rest on the top of the backboard and is not touching anything OOB, but the ball came to be there from a Throw-in and not a Field Goal Attempt. Would you treat this the same as a Throw-in that wedges between the rim, flange, and backboard. I am inclined to treat this the same as the Throw-in wedging between the rim, flange, and backboard.

MTD, Sr.

Mark Padgett Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 813408)
I am inclined to treat this the same as the Throw-in wedging between the rim, flange, and backboard.MTD, Sr.

Around here, anytime the ball gets stuck that way we call it a "wedgie". :p

Camron Rust Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 813408)
Camron:

Lets assume that the ball actually comes to rest on the top of the backboard and is not touching anything OOB, but the ball came to be there from a Throw-in and not a Field Goal Attempt. Would you treat this the same as a Throw-in that wedges between the rim, flange, and backboard. I am inclined to treat this the same as the Throw-in wedging between the rim, flange, and backboard.

MTD, Sr.

I might do so in practice but it is several feet from the flange/rim and it isn't wedged anywhere.

just another ref Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:53pm

The play currently under scrutiny is one which is not possible.

Somebody had to say it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1