![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also, we do not HAVE to go with an arrow that is pointed in the wrong direction. Coach P, how the hell did the ball get lodged on a free throw?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In, the OP though we have a different situation where the rule was misapplied and the arrow is in fact pointing in the correct direction given the error in rules application as an AP throw-in was not conducted for the stuck ball even though it should have been. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Assuming the 1st held ball was administered correctly I am most definitely faulting any JV official who can't remember who should get the arrow on a held ball that happens on the ensuing possession.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Good question. I can see the ball resting on the back flange, but a free throw to get wedged without another player touching it?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, while I agree they should remember, we often don't think to remember until something happens that gets us in trouble. Plus, here, maybe they did remember -- the arrow, as it turns out, wasn't the issue. |
|
|||
|
Correct ....as I found out later. The arrow was not an issue to them. They gave home team the ball back as a FT violation. I did not know that until after the game.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]() **notice all the big grins..... |
|
|||
|
Pfft in Texas we were threatened by the head of UIL officiating that if we ejected a coach after messing up a rule that we would be called to Austin along with the coach. In other words, it might be worth your trouble here!
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=bob jenkins;812251]It's happened.
And, while I agree they should remember, we often don't think to remember until something happens that gets us in trouble. Plus, here, maybe they did remember -- the arrow, as it turns out, wasn't the issue.[/QUOTE] Agreed. Not knowing the rule on FT violations was the issue.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
28.5 inch ball, perfect arc, perfect spot I guess. Right to a dead thud stop. Maybe Camron has time to Trig out a diagram. |
|
|||
|
Definitely an odd one. I saw one even stranger 6 years ago. Boys Varsity, three point shot attempted from the left side of the court. The ball sticks between the rim and back board on the FAR side of the rim!! WTH?? Never seen that before. That's why I love this game, its always different than the others!
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
My first thought.
|
|
|||
|
I had it happen (ball-lodged-beween-rim-and-backboard) earlier this year, actually. I didn't actually see HOW it happened (I was the L, so I was watching the rebounding action), but it did happen.
I also caused a ball to rest on the flange during a FT attempt in my JR High playing days. Also had a teammate who, airballed the first of 2 FTs. Coach said "You need to shoot it a bit harder", and his next attempt went over the backboard.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|