The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2012, 09:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In this situation there would be no need to ask the official scorer anything. 4 seconds prior there was a held ball (ball lodged between rim/backboard). An official who can't remember who received that AP throw-in should not be working JV games, IMO. This was obviously a case of not knowing the rules in regards to the ball being lodged between backboard/rim, not a case of not knowing who had the arrow.

Also, we do not HAVE to go with an arrow that is pointed in the wrong direction.
If, you know the arrow is wrong, no you don't have to go with it. I disagree on remembering the AP arrow though, there can be a lot going on in between the last throw and the point a question is brought up even if only 4 seconds came off the clock. Ideally they'd remember, but I won't fault them for not remembering.

In, the OP though we have a different situation where the rule was misapplied and the arrow is in fact pointing in the correct direction given the error in rules application as an AP throw-in was not conducted for the stuck ball even though it should have been.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 11, 2012, 09:22am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
If, you know the arrow is wrong, no you don't have to go with it. I disagree on remembering the AP arrow though, there can be a lot going on in between the last throw and the point a question is brought up even if only 4 seconds came off the clock. Ideally they'd remember, but I won't fault them for not remembering.

...
How can they not remember? They 2nd held ball happens immediately after the AP throw-in. IMO, working a JV game an official should know this.

Assuming the 1st held ball was administered correctly I am most definitely faulting any JV official who can't remember who should get the arrow on a held ball that happens on the ensuing possession.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1