The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 08:54am
Official Forum Member

Question: Free Throw Violation?

I am a referee in a youth league that tries to go by high school rules other than a few variations for the youngest kids. League is for 5-12 year olds. We have run into an unusual situation and can't decide whether it is a violation or just bad sportsmanship. Here it is: Can the opposing team lined up in the blocks during a free throw attempt yell and scream at the shooter. The standard stuff, "miss it", "hey shooter", etc. while he has ball in hand. I never see this happen during high school, college or NBA games so I have assumed it was a violation. However, I can't find a rule that says so. If it isn't, then we will probably add the rule for our league as we want more focus on learning and less on winning. I would just like to know if there is a rule on this situation. Thanks.
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 09:07am
Official Forum Member

It is "disconcertion" and first punishable by allowing the shooter another shot. I usually explain the call so all can hear it. If it persists, the punishment should be handled by a technical for unsportsmanlike conduct.

It ain't called a "free throw" for nothing! Supposed to be free from defense/harrassment!
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 09:17am
Official Forum Member

Thanks a lot. I knew it had to be a violation. One more: does that extend to opposing bench players or just those in the blocks?
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 09:28am
Lighten up, Francis.

Quote:
Originally Posted by djsteele95 View Post
Thanks a lot. I knew it had to be a violation. One more: does that extend to opposing bench players or just those in the blocks?
The rule applies to any "opponent" of the free thrower. That includes players, team members on the bench, coaches, and any bench personnel.
Old Sat Jan 07, 2012, 09:34am
This IS My Social Life

Quote: