The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2003, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Rule 9-1-4(b) If there is a violation first by the free-thrower's opponent followed by the free thrower or a teammate: (b) if the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3)

Okay, so we look back up to

9-1-3 If there is a simultaneous violation by each team, and no further free throws are to be administered...

Okay, but what if there are further free throws?

ie, lined up for two shots, an opponent of the shooter steps in too soon, and then shooter misses rim, now what?

what about on the first of a one-and-one?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2003, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Rule 9-1-4(b) If there is a violation first by the free-thrower's opponent followed by the free thrower or a teammate: (b) if the second violation is by the free thrower or a teammate behind the free-throw line extended and the three-point line, both violations are penalized, as in penalty item (3)

Okay, so we look back up to

9-1-3 If there is a simultaneous violation by each team, and no further free throws are to be administered...

Okay, but what if there are further free throws?

ie, lined up for two shots, an opponent of the shooter steps in too soon, and then shooter misses rim, now what?

what about on the first of a one-and-one?


If it's two shots, you shoot the 2nd shot.

If it's 1&1, you go to the AP.

Unless there's disconcertion.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2003, 02:38am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Juulie,check out casebook play 6.3.3SitB.That's the rules reference for Tony's answer.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2003, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Just remember that if the shooting team violates, they are losing that FT, regardless of whether B violates as well. If you get the double violation, it remains a simple loss of the FT on the first of two (or First/second of three), AP arrow if it was a FT that could be rebounded. It is kind of odd on the initial FTs that the double violation only penalizes the shooting team - maybe we should flip a coin to see if they get to re-shoot the first FT
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 21, 2003, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
It is kind of odd on the initial FTs that the double violation only penalizes the shooting team
This is my concern. If that's the rule, well, okay. It just doesn't feel intuitive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1