The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 11:20am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Hmmm...
Why was I thinking there's a case play or interp that says we don't call this unless we catch it after the ball has been inbounded?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 11:24am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Why was I thinking there's a case play or interp that says we don't call this unless we catch it after the ball has been inbounded?
Because most times if we catch it before the thrower-in releases the ball we kill the play and fix it even though technically we should call a technical when the ball is at their disposal.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 11:31am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Because most times if we catch it before the thrower-in releases the ball we kill the play and fix it even though technically we should call a technical when the ball is at their disposal.
That's probably it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Because most times if we catch it before the thrower-in releases the ball we kill the play and fix it even though technically we should call a technical when the ball is at their disposal.
Help me out here. If I see 6 on the floor before I give the thrower the ball, then I don't call the technical. Tell coach 6 on the floor. Problem fixed. If the ball is live (thrower has the ball) I do call the technical. Is this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 12:05pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudwhistle2 View Post
Help me out here. If I see 6 on the floor before I give the thrower the ball, then I don't call the technical. Tell coach 6 on the floor. Problem fixed. If the ball is live (thrower has the ball) I do call the technical. Is this correct?
Per the rules, yes.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 12:05pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudwhistle2 View Post
Help me out here. If I see 6 on the floor before I give the thrower the ball, then I don't call the technical. Tell coach 6 on the floor. Problem fixed. If the ball is live (thrower has the ball) I do call the technical. Is this correct?
Yes.
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 05:37pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Quiz Time ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudwhistle2 View Post
Help me out here. If I see 6 on the floor before I give the thrower the ball, then I don't call the technical. Tell coach 6 on the floor. Problem fixed. If the ball is live (thrower has the ball) I do call the technical. Is this correct?
Rule 10-1-6: A team shall not: Have more than five team members participating simultaneously. If discovered while being violated.

Here’s the only casebook play involving more than five team members participating simultaneously: 10.1.6 Situation: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.

Here’s my problem. I wish that the NFHS was more definitive about what "participating" means, as well as what "while being violated" means. If there are six team members participating, does it matter whether, or not, the ball is dead, live, clock running, clock not running, or if there is, or isn't, a timeout (not an intermission)? What defines whether, or not, a player is participating? Does it have to be during a live ball, clock running, situation? Can it be during a live ball, clock stopped situation, i.e., ball at disposal of free throw shooter? Can it be during a dead ball, clock running situation, i.e. dead ball immediately after a made field goal? How about during a dead ball, clock stopped situation, i.e during a timeout?

Here are some situations that are confusing me:

A) Head coach of Team B requests, and is granted, a timeout, at which point he immediately complains to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. The sole purpose of his timeout is to call attention to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. Officials, who have been unaware that six team members have been participating up until that point, count six Team A members on the court before they head into their timeout huddle. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call? Please note that in 10.1.6 SITUATION (b) (above) the officials were not aware of the additional player until after time expires, which, to me, means the same as an intermission, when all team members are bench personnel. The situation that I have described here in not during an intermission, but is during a timeout.

B) Team B head coach yells to nearest official that there are six Team A players participating. Official sounds whistle to stop the action to count the players and discovers that there are six Team A team members on the court during this dead ball, clock stopped, situation. What's the call?

C) Team A has six team members participating, which goes unobserved by the officials. Official calls a travel violation on Team A. There are no substitutions after the whistle. Before administering the throw in, officials observe that Team A has six team members participating. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

D) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. Before bouncing the ball to the free thrower for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

E) The last Team A free throw attempt is successful. The clock hasn't started. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

F) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. After bouncing the ball to the free thrower, and with the ball at the free thrower's disposal for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is live, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

G) Team A scores a field goal. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is running. What’s the call?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 05:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Here’s my problem. I wish that the NFHS was more definitive about what "participating" means, as well as what "while being violated" means.
I was tempted to just link to my own post in another thread, but hey, why not just post the pic?

__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 06:11pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Don Quixote De La Mancha ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I was tempted to just link to my own post in another thread, but hey, why not just post the pic?
Loudwhistle2 was asking for help. Well, so am I. So please help.

It is my contention that once six players get into the game, it's not as cut and dry as most people would assume to charge the technical foul. There's no defined time limit, like a correctable error, but there are limits. That's why it's imperative to do some preventative officiating to keep this from happening in the first place.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jan 06, 2012 at 06:36pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 06:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
A Mark Goodson Bill Todman Production ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
But hey, why not just post the pic?
Hey. That's my line.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 06:42pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Rule 10-1-6: A team shall not: Have more than five team members participating simultaneously. If discovered while being violated.





A) Head coach of Team B requests, and is granted, a timeout, at which point he immediately complains to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. The sole purpose of his timeout is to call attention to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. Officials, who have been unaware that six team members have been participating up until that point, count six Team A members on the court before they head into their timeout huddle. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call? Please note that in 10.1.6 SITUATION (b) (above) the officials were not aware of the additional player until after time expires, which, to me, means the same as an intermission, when all team members are bench personnel. The situation that I have described here in not during an intermission, but is during a timeout.

B) Team B head coach yells to nearest official that there are six Team A players participating. Official sounds whistle to stop the action to count the players and discovers that there are six Team A team members on the court during this dead ball, clock stopped, situation. What's the call?

C) Team A has six team members participating, which goes unobserved by the officials. Official calls a travel violation on Team A. There are no substitutions after the whistle. Before administering the throw in, officials observe that Team A has six team members participating. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

D) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. Before bouncing the ball to the free thrower for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

E) The last Team A free throw attempt is successful. The clock hasn't started. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

F) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. After bouncing the ball to the free thrower, and with the ball at the free thrower's disposal for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is live, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

G) Team A scores a field goal. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is running. What’s the call?
I've got a T in all of these, Billy.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 07:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Any Other Opinions ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I've got a T in all of these, Billy.
Thanks. Others may differ with you, including my local interpreter, who couldn't get any help from either the NFHS, nor IAABO, on these plays. It's like these plays were covered with smallpox viruses, or bubonic plague bacteria, and nobody wanted to touch them.

By the way? Are you up to date on your vaccinations?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 07:04pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Thanks. Others may differ with you, including my local interpreter, who couldn't get any help from either the NFHS, nor IAABO, on these plays. It's like these plays were covered with smallpox viruses, or bubonic plague bacteria, and nobody wanted to touch them.

By the way? Are you up to date on your vaccinations?
Until somebody tells me different, and they often do, go with something simple.
Who participates? Players. By definition, all 6 on the court are players in all these situations, are they not?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Why was I thinking there's a case play or interp that says we don't call this unless we catch it after the ball has been inbounded?
You're thinking of the time frame to correct giving the ball to the incorrect team.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2012, 12:21pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
I've had weeks like this...

WKU fires Ken McDonald - Bowling Green Daily News: Sports: wku, wku_mens_basketball,
__________________
I can't remember the last time I wasn't at least kind-of tired.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oops.... Four Seam Softball 2 Sat May 19, 2007 05:42pm
OOPS! Rita C Basketball 11 Wed Jan 25, 2006 09:13am
oops pauli Football 3 Sun Oct 31, 2004 12:59pm
An Oops. mick Basketball 3 Fri Oct 06, 2000 05:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1