The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 12:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Called my first intentional foul tonight. Come home and read the other intentional foul thread and realized I did it mostly right. Not good enough, dang it all.

It was a player control intentional. (Intentional elbow into the stomach of the defender.) My mistake is that I didn't have the fouled player make the shot. I did have it put back into play at the right spot.

Oh well. Live and learn.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 01:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
I'm assuming you're just being descriptive by calling it a "player control intentional." They are, of course, two seperate types of fouls with different penalties. One particularly significant difference is that if you ruled it intentional, and there was any kind of made basket involved, the basket counts.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 02:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I'm assuming you're just being descriptive by calling it a "player control intentional." They are, of course, two seperate types of fouls with different penalties. One particularly significant difference is that if you ruled it intentional, and there was any kind of made basket involved, the basket counts.
I am being descriptive. The young woman was dribbling the ball and put a good elbow into the stomach of the guard. I called intentional foul.

Rita
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 04:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I'm assuming you're just being descriptive by calling it a "player control intentional." They are, of course, two seperate types of fouls with different penalties. One particularly significant difference is that if you ruled it intentional, and there was any kind of made basket involved, the basket counts.
This is strange, but true!

If airborne shooter A1 intentionally fouls B1 and the try is successful, then the goal counts and B1 will be awarded 2 FTs with no players along the lane followed by a throw-in for Team B at the nearest spot from the foul.

Why? Because the foul by A1 is not a player control foul even though it was committed by an airborne shooter. It just doesn't meet the definition, since it was not a common foul.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
But doesn't a foul being committed by anyone other than an opponent of the shooter make the ball immediately dead (no basket)? That would cancel the shot or made basket and give B1 two FTs and the ball near where the foul occured.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I'm assuming you're just being descriptive by calling it a "player control intentional." They are, of course, two seperate types of fouls with different penalties. One particularly significant difference is that if you ruled it intentional, and there was any kind of made basket involved, the basket counts.
This is strange, but true!

If airborne shooter A1 intentionally fouls B1 and the try is successful, then the goal counts and B1 will be awarded 2 FTs with no players along the lane followed by a throw-in for Team B at the nearest spot from the foul.

Why? Because the foul by A1 is not a player control foul even though it was committed by an airborne shooter. It just doesn't meet the definition, since it was not a common foul.

You may want to look over the ruling on that. An airborne shooter is still a shooter until he returns to the floor. But if he passes that ball he is no long an airborne shooter.

__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I'm assuming you're just being descriptive by calling it a "player control intentional." They are, of course, two seperate types of fouls with different penalties. One particularly significant difference is that if you ruled it intentional, and there was any kind of made basket involved, the basket counts.
This is strange, but true!

If airborne shooter A1 intentionally fouls B1 and the try is successful, then the goal counts and B1 will be awarded 2 FTs with no players along the lane followed by a throw-in for Team B at the nearest spot from the foul.

Why? Because the foul by A1 is not a player control foul even though it was committed by an airborne shooter. It just doesn't meet the definition, since it was not a common foul.

You may want to look over the ruling on that. An airborne shooter is still a shooter until he returns to the floor. But if he passes that ball he is no long an airborne shooter. I dont have my rule book in front of me right now.

__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I'm assuming you're just being descriptive by calling it a "player control intentional." They are, of course, two seperate types of fouls with different penalties. One particularly significant difference is that if you ruled it intentional, and there was any kind of made basket involved, the basket counts.
This is strange, but true!

If airborne shooter A1 intentionally fouls B1 and the try is successful, then the goal counts and B1 will be awarded 2 FTs with no players along the lane followed by a throw-in for Team B at the nearest spot from the foul.

Why? Because the foul by A1 is not a player control foul even though it was committed by an airborne shooter. It just doesn't meet the definition, since it was not a common foul.

You may want to look over the ruling on that. An airborne shooter is still a shooter until he returns to the floor. But if he passes that ball he is no long an airborne shooter. I dont have my rule book in front of me right now.

__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 01:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 86
Just give her a Flagrant T and toss her!!! That will eliminate any confusion! lol
__________________
P.S. is what that part of the alphabet would look like if Q and R were eliminated from it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
I'm assuming you're just being descriptive by calling it a "player control intentional." They are, of course, two seperate types of fouls with different penalties. One particularly significant difference is that if you ruled it intentional, and there was any kind of made basket involved, the basket counts.
This is strange, but true!

If airborne shooter A1 intentionally fouls B1 and the try is successful, then the goal counts and B1 will be awarded 2 FTs with no players along the lane followed by a throw-in for Team B at the nearest spot from the foul.

Why? Because the foul by A1 is not a player control foul even though it was committed by an airborne shooter. It just doesn't meet the definition, since it was not a common foul.

You may want to look over the ruling on that. An airborne shooter is still a shooter until he returns to the floor. But if he passes that ball he is no long an airborne shooter. I dont have my rule book in front of me right now.

I'm lost. Where does a pass come into this?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2006, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,446
Quote:
Originally posted by stosh
But doesn't a foul being committed by anyone other than an opponent of the shooter make the ball immediately dead (no basket)? That would cancel the shot or made basket and give B1 two FTs and the ball near where the foul occured.
A foul by the offense results in an immediate dead ball if the ball is not in flight on a try. If the ball is in flight, then only a foul by the airborne shooter makes the ball dead immediately (no basket). If the foul is by another offensive player, then the ball does not become dead until the try ends (and the basket will count of the try is successful).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 09:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
If the ball is in flight, then only a foul by the airborne shooter makes the ball dead immediately (no basket).
More precisely, and as Nevada pointed out, only a common foul by the airborne shooter causes a try in flight to become dead immediately.

A player control foul is defined as a common foul, so if the airborne shooter commits an intentional or flagrant foul after releasing the try, the basket will count if it goes in.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1