The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 12:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
No.

If in the bonus then A2 is shooting.

If you deemed it egregious enough then an intentional foul would be warranted and again A2 is your shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 12:17am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Interestingly enough if you were working an NBA game, you would have had it correct.

Under the NBA rule set, if B1 pushes A2 into A1 and the shot is unsuccessful, then A1 is awarded two shots...if A1 makes the shot, then A2 is awarded one free throw.

So you were correct under ONE rule set!
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 12:20am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
A similar play happened in a recent college game I was watching. A1 is going up for a layup along the end line. A2 is standing at about the block. B1 pushes A2 into the path of A1. A1 makes the shot, and goes to the line for the free throw.

I don't believe Team A was in the bonus at the time, so they should have counted the basket, then given the ball to Team A, designated spot throw in?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 12:27am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by stiffler3492 View Post
A similar play happened in a recent college game I was watching. A1 is going up for a layup along the end line. A2 is standing at about the block. B1 pushes A2 into the path of A1. A1 makes the shot, and goes to the line for the free throw.

I don't believe Team A was in the bonus at the time, so they should have counted the basket, then given the ball to Team A, designated spot throw in?
They sent A1 to the line? And they did not count the basket?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 01:03am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
They sent A1 to the line? And they did not count the basket?

Peace
Yes, they sent A1 to the line. And they DID count the basket.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooting Foul averychoi Basketball 13 Sat Nov 14, 2009 06:55pm
shooting foul or not? psujaye Basketball 5 Mon Feb 05, 2007 08:22pm
Shooting Foul with Technical Foul / How Many FTs? rgncjn Basketball 5 Mon Jan 08, 2007 03:29am
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? brightstripes54 Basketball 10 Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm
Shooting Foul mbloise Basketball 3 Fri Oct 29, 2004 11:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1