| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Slide = Not travelling
			 
			 
			
		
		
		
			
			So had a MS game the other night.  Partner called a travel on a player who slid about 5 feet after gaining possession of a loose ball on the floor.  (He went to the floor first, then gained possession while still sliding.)  My partner called a travel before he had even stopped sliding.  I thought about saying something to him, but I did not.  I was the T table side.  I was near the coach of the team called for the travel.  He and most of the gym was not happy about the call. 
 
I had a feeling I was right about the "momentum" rule.  (Just double checked my rule/case book) A player can recover the ball on the floor and allow his momentum to expire and not be called for a travel, but if he makes a second motion that is not a part of the initial slide, then it is a travel. (Sorry if the wording confuses some!) 
 
What would you have done in this situation?  I am one of the younger officials in my area but have been reffing for a few years now and this official is older than me, first time working with him, so I did not know how he would take me asking about the call. 
 
Correct me if I am misinterpreting something here also.
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |