The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 18, 2011, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
I have seen a player go into a dive for a ball and resulted in a roll, which was caused by the dive ... the momentum saw the player roll once and stop.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 18, 2011, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
I have seen a player go into a dive for a ball and resulted in a roll, which was caused by the dive ... the momentum saw the player roll once and stop.
I quoted directly from the case book. It says once you stop sliding, you cannot roll. Momentum is not mentioned. Therefore, the play you describe is traveling.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 18, 2011, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Could a slide and a roll both be part of momentum? I would say yes. And no violation. Am I wrong? I know its a tough call, but believe I have seen it before.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
I have seen a player go into a dive for a ball and resulted in a roll, which was caused by the dive ... the momentum saw the player roll once and stop.
Slide/Roll as part of momentum of the dive for a loose ball is legal. There is nothing in the rule or case that says it is illegal so it must be legal. Once at a stop, a roll/slide is illegal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Dec 19, 2011 at 12:04am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2015, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Slide/Roll as part of momentum of the dive for a loose ball is legal. There is nothing in the rule or case that says it is illegal so it must be legal. Once at a stop, a roll/slide is illegal.
Can't find anything in NFHS regarding roll being part of the momentum following a dive with control during the dive.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 23, 2015, 09:57pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Can't find anything in NFHS regarding roll being part of the momentum following a dive with control during the dive.

Any movement by the player's body that occurs due to his momentum is legal. Movement due to momentum ends when all movement stops. Therefore, a player can dive for a ball and his momentum, after gaining control of the ball, can cause his body to slide and/or roll before he comes to a complete and discernible stop (Oops! The weather has been so nice that Junior and I were starting to get in to baseball umpiring mode today, LOL!).

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 24, 2015, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Can't find anything in NFHS regarding roll being part of the momentum following a dive with control during the dive.
See this case (from an older book so the number may have shifted a bit):

Quote:
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?

RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b)
The part I've highlighted in red tells me that rolling over is OK before A1 stops sliding.

The part I have highlighed in green also suggest that since I've never seen a player dive on their back....only dive on their stomach and roll over.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Dec 24, 2015 at 05:52pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travelling tjchamp Basketball 16 Sat Jan 05, 2008 01:36am
Travelling or not? Muck Basketball 4 Sat Dec 17, 2005 09:56am
"up and down" / travelling splinter Basketball 4 Mon Oct 04, 2004 06:58am
travelling contrary1965 Basketball 14 Thu Dec 11, 2003 06:00pm
Travelling OFoley Basketball 7 Fri Dec 10, 1999 04:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1