The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2011, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
A1 has basketball in backcourt. Passes the ball in the direction of A2, who jumps off of both feet from the frontcourt.

While in the air he/she (a) lets the ball bounce off his chest or (b) muffs the pass. Neither time did A2 control the basketball.

Do you have a over-and-back violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2011, 10:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
A1 has basketball in backcourt. Passes the ball in the direction of A2, who jumps off of both feet from the frontcourt.

While in the air he/she (a) lets the ball bounce off his chest or (b) muffs the pass. Neither time did A2 control the basketball.

Do you have a over-and-back violation?
You have a back court violation in both situations if the ball ends up in the back court (or touches any team A player). The ball gains front court status when it touches A2 who still has FC status while airborne. A2 does not have to have player control for this to be a violation. You do not actually have a BC violation until a team A player touches it before any team B player.

Last edited by DrPete; Thu Dec 15, 2011 at 10:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2011, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
A1 has basketball in backcourt. Passes the ball in the direction of A2, who jumps off of both feet from the frontcourt.

While in the air he/she (a) lets the ball bounce off his chest or (b) muffs the pass. Neither time did A2 control the basketball.

Do you have a over-and-back violation?
It depends on what happens next. If the ball is then next touched by A after regaining backcourt status, then yes, it's a backcourt violation. But the ball going to the backcourt again is not in itself a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2011, 07:33am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Isn't it about time for somebody to post a backcourt quiz???
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2011, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Isn't it about time for somebody to post a backcourt quiz???
I thought we'd been having one. It's just in slow motion.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2011, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
A1 has basketball in backcourt. Passes the ball in the direction of A2, who jumps off of both feet from the frontcourt.

While in the air he/she (a) lets the ball bounce off his chest or (b) muffs the pass. Neither time did A2 control the basketball.

Do you have a over-and-back violation?
A2's (PLAYER) control of the basketball in the FC is ONLY an issue if the action is a direct result of a throw-in.

In all "normal play" situations, TEAM CONTROL and the ball reaching the FC is all that's needed (well, that and the ball going to the BC and last-to-touch first-to-touch requirements).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2011, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Thanks. I thought control might be the issue here, but its actually just the touching.

Backcourt violation as soon as the ball makes contact with A2 once he lands in the backcourt after leaping into the air and last touching the court with both feet in frontcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 18, 2011, 01:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Backcourt violation as soon as the ball makes contact with A2 once he lands in the backcourt after leaping into the air and last touching the court with both feet in frontcourt.
Correct.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Violation NBA Spence Basketball 16 Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:14am
backcourt violation or not PP Basketball 2 Sat Dec 08, 2007 04:07pm
backcourt violation?? Schmack42 Basketball 7 Sun Jan 28, 2007 01:19pm
backcourt violation bbcowboy Basketball 8 Tue May 09, 2006 07:25am
Backcourt violation Stevan Basketball 2 Thu Nov 16, 2000 09:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1