The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2011, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 47
Correctible Error

A1 is incorrectly given 1 free throw instead of 2. When A1 misses the first, A2 rebounds and is fouled in the act of shooting. It is then discovered that A1 should have shot 1 more free throw. How do we resume? Common sense tells me have A1 shoot the un-awarded free throw with the lane cleared, then bring everyone in for A2's 2 free throws. However, the rule seems to state that the foul on A2 would count, but play is resumed at A1's 2nd attempt. Am I reading this rule correctly?

2-10-6

If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a *merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctible Error bseybs32 Basketball 21 Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:39am
Is this a correctible error? JHut17 Basketball 2 Mon Jan 13, 2003 10:48am
Correctible error? Art N Basketball 12 Mon Feb 12, 2001 11:26am
Correctible Error? TexasRef Basketball 24 Tue Nov 21, 2000 03:12pm
Correctible error? Thom Basketball 3 Fri Dec 31, 1999 03:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1