![]() |
|
|
|||
Another TO question
Brainbrian's post made me think of something else...
NFHS - A player goes airborn, grabs the ball, and calls a time out before landing out of bounds - legal? I see nothing that prohibits it in the books.
__________________
Refsmitty ![]() |
|
|||
Legal in NFHS. Not supposed to be allowed in NCAA (if the whistle is blown, it becomes an IW).
|
|
|||
I was not aware of the IW part, so I looked it up in the casebook. A.R. 155. That's really a great result for the team requesting the TO. They get the ball pack at POI and they don't have to burn a TO.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Timeouts Not Charged A.R. 155. Player A1 is airborne and momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds. A1, while airborne and in control of the ball, requests a timeout. The official: (1) Inadvertently blows the whistle; or (2) Blows the whistle and immediately grants a timeout. RULING: In both (1) and (2), the officials shall not recognize this request. The official’s whistle is an inadvertent whistle that caused the ball to become dead. Play will be resumed at the point of interruption by awarding the ball to Team A, the team in control, at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located. Before placing the ball at Team A’s disposal for a throw-in, the official is permitted to inquire as to whether Team A still wants a timeout. (Rule 4-39, 4-53.1.a, 5-12.1.c and 7-5.16) |
|
|||
Agreed. If I was a college coach, I'd be teaching my players to call timeout anyway in that type of situation.
|
|
|||
Quote:
A1 or A2 requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball; (b) while A1's throw-in is in flight toward A2; or (c) when the ball is on the floor at A1's disposal for a throw-in. RULING: The request is granted in (a) and (c), but denied in (b), as there is no player control while the ball is loose between players. As long as player control exists ...
__________________
You learn something new everyday ... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |