![]() |
|
|||
NCAA-W: Shot clock violation or Flagrant 1?
Here's the sitch:
NCAA-W. Team A has the ball with 5 seconds on the shot clock. A shot goes up and misses the rim. The shot clock operator mistakenly resets the shot clock on the shot. Team A then gets an offensive rebound. Unfortunately, the three officials failed to notice that the shot clock was reset, and after A got the rebound, A-1 was fouled by B-1 in the act of shooting. The contact was deemed enough to make it a Flagrant 1 foul. At the time the foul was called, 23 seconds was showing on the shot clock. The officials get together and realize that there undoubtedly should have been a shot clock violation on Team A prior to the Flagrant 1 foul being called. What should the crew have done? The way I see it there are two options: 1) Ignore the shot clock violation and award Team A two shots and the ball for the Flagrant 1 foul, or 2) ignore the Flagrant 1 foul and award Team B the ball due to the shot clock violation (with the proper time added to the game clock). Also, just for the sake of argument... what if it was just a common foul committed by Team B, and not a Flagrant 1 foul? Would the ruling change? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
UNC/URI shot clock violation...? Or not | zeedonk | Basketball | 5 | Thu Apr 01, 2010 01:28pm |
Shot clock violation | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 1 | Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:14pm |
Shot Clock Violation? | OHBBREF | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:29pm |
SHOT CLOCK VIOLATION? | MRIGUY | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:58pm |
Is it a Shot Clock Violation? | RdBallRef | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 06, 2001 01:50pm |