The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 07, 2011, 06:25pm
Official Forum Member

Not making the call frustration.

Before I get started I want to say this is my first year officiating. I have been doing something that is driving me crazy. It upsets me when I don’t make a call. I don’t show it on the court but on my drive home and that evening it bothers me.

Here is my issue and looking for ideas.

I will see a violation or foul but don’t blow the whistle. Sometimes I will start to raise my arm but I don’t blow the whistle and the play continues. I want to break this bad habit. How much time after the incident is it to late to blow the whistle? Is it better to have a late whistle then no whistle at all?

Thanks

Kevin
Old Wed Dec 07, 2011, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member

Good news

Good news is it does get better.

I would rather be slow and right, than fast and wrong. So don't kick yourself too hard over this, this is perfectly natural.
Old Wed Dec 07, 2011, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member

For your own sake. LET IT GO!
I have tried to look back on calls that I may have missed, only to have that affect the way I officiate the next time. Just learn from it, file it away, and move on. First year is rough, and if you are killing yourself over missed calls you are going to make it even worse.
A late whistle is still a good whistle and you know that you have seen the entire play. If you get it and get it late, next time you see it you'll be able to get it that much quicker. Our job is to get the call right. The call being a second later does not make the call wrong.
Old Wed Dec 07, 2011, 07:38pm
We don't rent pigs

It's not as late as you think. Blow the whistle.

Lonesome Dove
Old Wed Dec 07, 2011, 11:20pm
Archaic Power Monger