![]() |
|
|
|||
Yes, but A2 wasn't the last one to touch the ball with front court status. Read the original post again.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Refer to rule 9-9-3. The original post is talking about a division line throw in.
|
|
|||
Quote:
That's 1 of the 4 criteria for a BC violation. Since it was a throw-in another of the 4 wasn't met, so no violation. |
|
|||
9.9.1 SITUATION D: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's
throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A’s frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team A’s frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as A2 lands in the backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-3) See Throw-in/Backcourt violation? This created alot of discussion, thus the following year these plays were listed in the interps for IAABO and NFHS. The above play became a case book play. The new team control rule does not effect the play. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt violation | BBrules | Basketball | 40 | Mon Jan 10, 2011 08:03pm |
Backcourt Violation | jdmara | Basketball | 8 | Thu May 28, 2009 11:56pm |
Backcourt violation or not... | PSidbury | Basketball | 7 | Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:04pm |
Backcourt violation or not ? | reed2310 | Basketball | 8 | Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:57pm |
Backcourt violation?? | glind | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 08, 2001 09:43am |