The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Without my book

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave9819 View Post
Team A has the ball for a throw-in at the division line.

A1 releases the ball and it is tipped by A2 in the frontcourt (A2 has frontcourt status). A3 then jumps from the frontcourt, catches the ball and establishes player control (while in the air, both feet off the ground), then lands in the backcourt.

I know in this situation, if it had been B2 who tipped the ball instead of A2, it would be a backcourt violation.

My question is, is it a violation if it was tipped by the offense (A2) instead of the defense (B2)?
You got a lot happening here.

Okay upon the legal touching of the ball by either A2 or B2 the throw-in has ended. So as A3 last had front court status and control of the ball, while in the air, thus giving the ball front court status, then landing in the backcourt, we have a backcourt violation.

How did I do?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation BBrules Basketball 40 Mon Jan 10, 2011 08:03pm
Backcourt Violation jdmara Basketball 8 Thu May 28, 2009 11:56pm
Backcourt violation or not... PSidbury Basketball 7 Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:04pm
Backcourt violation or not ? reed2310 Basketball 8 Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:57pm
Backcourt violation?? glind Basketball 6 Mon Jan 08, 2001 09:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1