![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The arrow is changed when the AP throw-in ends.
The throw-in ends when the ball is touched on the court, or the inbounding team violates. The throw-in does NOT end on a foul. So, the first throw-in did not end, and the arrow should not be changed. The second throw-in did end, and the arrow should be changed. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Oh yeah, neither of them called any reaches or over the backs. And yes, I made sure they both now know the first rule of officiating.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
I'm not being snarky. This is a serious question.
But they called an "illegal screen". What made it illegal?
|
|
|||
|
Most likely a blocking foul.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
The one that impressed me the most was when a throw-in went OOB without being touched and the rookie brought it back to the original spot for the throw-in. I know a few veterans who don't get this one right.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
Yeah, the probability of flipping a coin to get both calls right is just 0.25!
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The throw-in ends when the ball is LEGALLY touched, or the inbounding team violates. A kick is not a legal touch and the throwin doesn't end on a kick. The arrow will be unchanged and the new throwin will be for the kick, not the AP. Also, "on the court" has, at least in some contexts, been interpreted to be inbounds (see LGP rules). An OOB player touching the released throwin will have violated but it is not a throwin violation. That is considered to be a legal throwin that has ended....then a OOB violation occurred....arrow changes.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Hmmm...what if the kick is by the offensive team? Wouldn't that be a violation and therefore the arrow WOULD change since the inbounding team violated?
|
|
|||
|
I always took that to mean a throw-in violation...not just any violation.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
|
|||
|
NCAA specifically says "throw-in violation." Don't have my FED books handy to check, but I think it is (or interpreted as) the same.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The throw-in ends when: (a) the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds (b) The passed ball touches ir is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7 [endline after score] (c) The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation |
|
|||
|
Quote:
At this point, I'm going change of arrow and the next throw in for Team B is for the kick by Team A. |
|
|||
|
You need to look in the right spot -- 4-throw-in (4-42?) and see when it ends. I'm "certain" it says "throw-in violation."
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Uniforms for Rookies? | muld_98 | Football | 14 | Sun Jun 12, 2005 02:42pm |
| need help with my rookies... | jumpmaster | Football | 10 | Sat Sep 25, 2004 07:23am |
| Education of Rookies | bossref | Basketball | 4 | Sun Mar 10, 2002 08:19pm |
| Rookies | oppool | Softball | 3 | Thu Mar 07, 2002 07:13pm |
| Working with other rookies | Rookie | Basketball | 8 | Sat Dec 09, 2000 09:33pm |