The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
5-8-3 How does "still in team control" enter into the issue of granting a time-out?
5-8-3.a "grants a player a time out if the ball is in control of a player or his team." A fumbled ball or interrupted dribble is in team control and a timeout can be granted....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
little words

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
5-8-3.a "grants a player a time out if the ball is in control of a player or his team." A fumbled ball or interrupted dribble is in team control and a timeout can be granted....
The correct word in 5-8-3a is of his team not or which makes a big difference. Timeouts cannot be granted during fumbles or interrupted dribbles. But on a throw-in if the fumbled ball remains OOB I believe the ball is still at that team's disposal and a timeout can be granted. Yes, no?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
The correct word in 5-8-3a is of his team not or which makes a big difference. Timeouts cannot be granted during fumbles or interrupted dribbles. But on a throw-in if the fumbled ball remains OOB I believe the ball is still at that team's disposal and a timeout can be granted. Yes, no?
Thanks, billyu2
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,269
Does this help anything?

5.8.3 SITUATION D:

A1 or A2 requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball; (b) while A1's throw-in is in flight toward A2; or (c) when the ball is on the floor at A1's disposal for a throw-in.

RULING: The request is granted in (a) and (c), but denied in (b), as there is no player control while the ball is loose between players.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Does this help anything?
No.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2011, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
The correct word in 5-8-3a is of his team not or which makes a big difference. Timeouts cannot be granted during fumbles or interrupted dribbles. But on a throw-in if the fumbled ball remains OOB I believe the ball is still at that team's disposal and a timeout can be granted. Yes, no?
Billyu2...Thanks for the input...you are right...those words "or" and "of" make a difference...also, reading further, I see in the case book 5.8.3.F timeout not granted during an interrupted dribble....Thanks again for the clarification....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
designated throw in spot? fan Basketball 5 Fri Nov 30, 2007 03:46pm
Designated Throw-In Spot 7-6-2 PConley Basketball 2 Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:26pm
Designated spot throw ins Art N Basketball 14 Tue Jan 16, 2001 08:29am
Designated Spot Throw-in Fox40 Basketball 4 Sun Oct 24, 1999 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1