The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 28, 2003, 09:46pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Lightbulb No you cannot.

Quote:
Originally posted by BayStateRef
After made basket, A1 may run the baseline and retains that right if the scoring team commits a violation and the ensuing throw-in spot would be the endline. (Fed Rule 7-7)

Question: What if the defender legally hits the ball and it goes directly out of bounds on the baseline? May the team still run the baseline?

No. The only way the ball can go back to the baseline and a team can still maintain their "running the baseline" previlidge, is if a defender kicks the ball, causes a foul before the throw-in has ended and both acts happen so the ball will go right back to the baseline. Everything else is a designated spot throw-in. I do not have my rulebook right in front of me, but that is the basics.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1