![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Old Rule: Backcourt violation under article 2 as Team A had team control the entire time. New Rule: Likely not a violation. There was both player and team control in the frontcourt, but then Team B caused the ball to enter the backcourt. Team A now caused the ball to re-enter the frontcourt where it did not touch a player and player control was not re-established there. The ball subsequently returned to the backcourt and was first touched by Team A. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
If you can keep people from saying that the bat was a dribble..yes.
|
|
|||
|
Possibly because the definition of dribble includes batting the ball????
If the bat is controlled and is to the floor, it is, by definition, a dribble. And the ball, even though it bounced in the frontcourt off of the official, is not technically in the frontcourt since it is now "during a dribble".
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Aug 10, 2011 at 02:48am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also, you are certainly aware that the 3-points rule doesn't apply to an interrupted dribble. So if the official were to deem that to be the case, then the ball would attain FC status. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Backcourt violation? | zeedonk | Basketball | 17 | Tue Feb 08, 2011 09:22pm |
| Valid rule interpreation RE: backcourt violation | jdmara | Basketball | 29 | Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:46pm |
| Backcourt violation rule change? (over and back) | HL Clippenchain | Basketball | 24 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 01:27pm |
| Backcourt violation? | vawils | Basketball | 4 | Mon Dec 12, 2005 09:23am |
| Backcourt Violation? | Cornellref | Basketball | 4 | Wed Dec 03, 2003 08:26am |