The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 24, 2000, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach:

Is this acceptable from a pure NF rules standpoint (forget context, summer league with more relaxed setting and all of us there to learn). This situation is not listed as a correctable error, but ball has never been in play.




Ah -- here's the misunderstnding. The ball has been "in play" (made live) as soon as it is handed to the team for the throw in. By rule, this mistake cannot be corrected.

(As a usual matter, though, officials will, umm, make another mistake and have an inadvertant whistle with the ball mistakenly given to the other team for a throw-in, if it's brough to their attention before the ball is touched on the court or a foul is committed. Note that I very carefully did not say that the officials ignored the rule book and just gave the ball back to the "correct" team. )

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1