The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 29, 2011, 11:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
Contact maybe marginal but two playrs going to the floor like this probably deserves a call, the defense was not great and the contact changed shot... I think I'd make it a block
+1 without a doubt
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 30, 2011, 08:44am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,953
For those calling a PC foul please explain what contact A1 made to B1 to earn such a call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 30, 2011, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Yes please! IMO, A didn't go to, let alone through the defender.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 30, 2011, 11:31am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
B1 has lgp. A1 jumps and his hip hits B1's shoulder, knocking both to the floor. I'll defer to the guy with the best view of the actual contact and assume the contact was enough for a foul. I'm with MTD, Sr., on this one.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 30, 2011, 12:07pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
B1 has lgp. A1 jumps and his hip hits B1's shoulder, knocking both to the floor. I'll defer to the guy with the best view of the actual contact and assume the contact was enough for a foul. I'm with MTD, Sr., on this one.

Snaqs, I don't see that contact. I see B1's upper torso already falling back (away from A1's hip) and A1's foot making contact with B1's thigh/knee. And B1's legs are outside his natural base. If A1 were attempting to dribble around B1 and contact was made between B1's knee and A1's leg that's something that all of us have called a block.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Sat Jul 30, 2011 at 12:11pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 30, 2011, 12:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
The first angle isn't good for this play, and on the second angle, A1's body blocks the camera view from seeing any concact or space, whichever the case may be, on B1's shoulder. I honestly don't think the camera gives us enough information to decide one way or the other.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 30, 2011, 12:54pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The first angle isn't good for this play, and on the second angle, A1's body blocks the camera view from seeing any concact or space, whichever the case may be, on B1's shoulder. I honestly don't think the camera gives us enough information to decide one way or the other.
I think the angles we're given are sufficient to make a call either way. I don't think the defender had a LGP, but even if he did, there wasn't IMO, close to enough contact to call a charge.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Post Legal Guarding Positon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
B1 has lgp. A1 jumps and his hip hits B1's shoulder, knocking both to the floor. I'll defer to the guy with the best view of the actual contact and assume the contact was enough for a foul. I'm with MTD, Sr., on this one.
In fact B1 never obtain legal guarding position.
NFHS Rule 4-23-2.
To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
A. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
B. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent.
This can be seen at the start of video.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 11:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
In fact B1 never obtain legal guarding position.
NFHS Rule 4-23-2.
To obtain an initial legal guarding position:
A. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court.
B. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent.
This can be seen at the start of video.
At :02 and :11 seconds (the picture is much clearer at :11), you can see B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor. A1's foot is still on the floor prior to his takeoff. He does have LGP. His problem is, it doesn't allow him to lean his shoulder to the right to force contact.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2011, 12:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Post Legal Guarding Positon

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
At :02 and :11 seconds (the picture is much clearer at :11), you can see B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor. A1's foot is still on the floor prior to his takeoff. He does have LGP. His problem is, it doesn't allow him to lean his shoulder to the right to force contact.
By that time (:11) B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor he is late, he did not met the requirements under rule 4-23-2
At :02 B1 is just in the lane, and by the time :11 A1 had already started his shot. BLOCK on B1
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2011, 08:51am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
By that time (:11) B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor he is late, he did not met the requirements under rule 4-23-2
At :02 B1 is just in the lane, and by the time :11 A1 had already started his shot. BLOCK on B1
Why do you keep bringing up "started his shot"? It has nothing to do with the play.

It's a block in this play b/c of the unnatural width of B1's stance which is what caused the contact between B1's leg and A1's foot.

BTW, I just realized I know the calling official in this video. I'm gonna have to ask him about this play when I see him this fall.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Aug 01, 2011 at 08:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2011, 10:54am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
By that time (:11) B1 facing A1 with both feet on the floor he is late, he did not met the requirements under rule 4-23-2
At :02 B1 is just in the lane, and by the time :11 A1 had already started his shot. BLOCK on B1
Again the applicable rule is 4-23-4b. Also, you stated he never obtained LGP, when in fact he did. He got it, at the latest, right before A1 took off. His problem is that LGP does not allow him to lean sideways into contact, which he did, thus earning the block. Had he not leaned and still been run over, the timing was in his favor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 04:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 36
Block

In slow motion we can see that at about 0:10 the offensives player has gathered the ball which is the start of the habitual shooting motion and the defensive player is still moving. Block!

Last edited by NoFear2020; Sun Jul 31, 2011 at 04:08am. Reason: time on the clock
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 06:10am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,393
Legal Guarding Position ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
In slow motion we can see that at about 0:10 the offensives player has gathered the ball which is the start of the habitual shooting motion and the defensive player is still moving.
Be careful here. Don't confuse continuous motion with airborne shooter. They may not be the same in all cases.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 31, 2011, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoFear2020 View Post
In slow motion we can see that at about 0:10 the offensives player has gathered the ball which is the start of the habitual shooting motion and the defensive player is still moving. Block!
The defender must have LGP before to the offense alights, not prior to the gather.


FTR, I had a block on the 1st angle (Ts view), the 2nd angle (L view) supported a block even more. I thought the defender was going to do a split. As others have said, if it were a screen or a drive by situation we would all have a block here.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Make The Call!! basketball45 Basketball 1 Sat Jan 09, 2010 08:20pm
Make the call cmckenna Baseball 16 Tue May 23, 2006 03:32am
You make the call 2... w_sohl Basketball 10 Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:11pm
You make the call.... w_sohl Basketball 6 Thu Jan 24, 2002 07:08pm
You make the call.... w_sohl Basketball 2 Wed Jan 16, 2002 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1