The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 11:31am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question Newbies - try this one

This came up in a summer HS girls tournament I worked a few weeks ago. FED rules. A1 takes a shot. While the ball is still in the air, A1 lands (so A1 is no longer an airborne shooter) then fouls B1. The shot then goes in. What's the call as it pertains to the shot going in? Does the basket count?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 21
I'm going to guess:

Basket counts, report foul as normal, no team control so bonus as needed.

Was it some kind of blocking out foul? So far this summer I've seen these called very inconsistently. A textbook block out, with no displacement but arms back gets called, but then in another game, block outs with about SIX FEET of displacement, no call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by bball_lurker View Post
So far this summer I've seen these called very inconsistently. A textbook block out, with no displacement but arms back gets called, but then in another game, block outs with about SIX FEET of displacement, no call.
Same official?

For the record, during box outs I've seen players "hold" or impede their opponents freedom of movement without displacement, while the arms are back pinning/locking the would-be rebounder.

Those are generally reported as a hold though.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 12:43pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by bball_lurker View Post
Was it some kind of blocking out foul?
No, it was a push. OK, now add this to it. Same play, after A1 lands and fouls B1 (called) and before the ball goes in the basket, the horn sounds ending the quarter.

BTW - I'm not admitting you were right in your answer.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2011, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
No, it was a push. OK, now add this to it. Same play, after A1 lands and fouls B1 (called) and before the ball goes in the basket, the horn sounds ending the quarter.

BTW - I'm not admitting you were right in your answer.
Count the basket. B1 will shoot Free Throws if Team B is in the bonus. Start the next quarter or half with an AP Throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2011, 03:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Count the basket. B1 will shoot Free Throws if Team B is in the bonus. Start the next quarter or half with an AP Throw-in.
possibly, but you should take one or two steps first. What are they?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2011, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
possibly, but you should take one or two steps first. What are they?
Left foot and right foot?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2011, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
possibly, but you should take one or two steps first. What are they?
Sounds like a travel (or, possibly, a crab dribble).
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 08, 2011, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
possibly, but you should take one or two steps first. What are they?
OK.... what am I missing? A1 shoots. A1 lands. A1 fouls B1. Horn sounds, Ball goes in the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 06, 2011, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bball_lurker View Post
So far this summer I've seen these called very inconsistently. A textbook block out, with no displacement but arms back gets called, but then in another game, block outs with about SIX FEET of displacement, no call.
Some camps teach "Possession Consequence" with regards to rebounding fouls. It is basically a different way to say advantage/disadvantage but may clarify what constitutes an advantage/disadvantage for some.

If the team/player that should get the ball did get the ball, ignore the contact as it had no effect on the play. This doesn't mean ignore contact that put a player on his back. It is talking about simple jockeying, holding, or excessive boxing out when the ball goes somewhere else or when a player from behind jumps into the front player who still gets the ball cleanly and is unaffected by the contact.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jul 07, 2011 at 11:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2011, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
I have heard Cameron's point as well but I tend to disagree with that philosophy on a HTBT case by case situation. Often minor displacement that does not affect the play can and should be ignored but a major push should be called, in my opinion, no matter where the ball goes and it is best to get it early in the game. This can prevent huge headaches later in the game. Also, when you let A1 give a huge box out displacement to B1, what happens when B1 now realizes what the 'rule' is based on the no call and clears out A1 on the other end?

I do think each case is HTBT but calling obvious fouls can rarely be a bad thing. Players adjust to how the game is being called and I would rather have them adjust and play cleaner than adjust and play dirtier.

Every call and non call affects the game at that point and in the future. Players adjust based on what is being called and their own personal foul situation.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2011, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy View Post
I have heard Cameron's point as well but I tend to disagree with that philosophy on a HTBT case by case situation. Often minor displacement that does not affect the play can and should be ignored but a major push should be called, in my opinion, no matter where the ball goes and it is best to get it early in the game.
Why do you think this constitutes disagreement with Camron? It's the substance of what he's saying, expressed less clearly.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 07, 2011, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
mbyron - I am not sure if I am disagreeing with Cameron, but I am expanding on his point. There is a wide discrepancy on the advantage/disadvantage philosophy and I am in the camp where I try to be aware of what is okay and not okay and I lean toward calling fouls instead of the 'playing through' but all situations are HTBT. I have seen others and myself as well allow contact and 'play through' situations where I later regretted not calling a foul. This has gone both ways too where I called fouls I should have let go but the consequences of not calling the foul are normally more severe than the consequences of calling the foul when this mistake is made.

The point I am trying to make is that too often refs do not make calls that should be made using the excuse of advantage/disadvantage.

Also, I have been in camps where I was told after calling a foul that a major clear out with two post players should not be called because the rebound went the other way, so I changed. From experience I learned that this can come back to bite you later in the game. For me it was a flagrant elbow at the end of the game by the player I allowed to clear out earlier. I no longer allow that behavior. One of the few pieces of advice at camp I am unhappy with.

Last edited by hoopguy; Thu Jul 07, 2011 at 09:27am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Newbies Together The_Rookie Basketball 16 Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:29pm
Two for the newbies, or anyone else Mark Padgett Basketball 28 Mon May 24, 2010 06:29am
OK newbies, try this one Mark Padgett Basketball 12 Wed Mar 24, 2010 01:44pm
Here's one for the newbies Mark Padgett Basketball 35 Thu Jan 14, 2010 04:08pm
Another one for newbies Mark Padgett Basketball 34 Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1