The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2011, 09:35pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
I thought the exception was for the same player to retrieve. A1 touches in FC, the A1 can retrieve in BC as first to touch.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2011, 09:48pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
I thought the exception was for the same player to retrieve. A1 touches in FC, the A1 can retrieve in BC as first to touch.
Here is the exception that allows the ball to go into the backcourt under NCAA rules:

Rule 7, Section 6

Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2011, 09:53pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Here is the exception that allows the ball to go into the backcourt under NCAA rules:

Rule 7, Section 6

Art. 8. Regardless of where the throw-in spot is located, the throw-in team may cause the ball to go into the back court.
Art. 9. After the throw-in ends, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.
In Fed? I thought A1 would be the ONLY one who could be first to touch in BC under that scenario.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2011, 09:55pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
In Fed? I thought A1 would be the ONLY one who could be first to touch in BC under that scenario.
I think we're mixing up two issues...I'm quoting the NCAA rule allowing the ball to be inbounded in the backcourt or fumbled into the backcourt w/o a backcourt violation being called.

I think you're referring to the exception that allows a player to jump from the frontcourt, catch the ball in the air, and land in the frontcourt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2011, 10:04pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
I think we're mixing up two issues...I'm quoting the NCAA rule allowing the ball to be inbounded in the backcourt or fumbled into the backcourt w/o a backcourt violation being called.

I think you're referring to the exception that allows a player to jump from the frontcourt, catch the ball in the air, and land in the frontcourt.
Not quite. If A1 fumbles or deflects the ball on a TI from FC into BC, he can go get it and be first to touch. But, I do not think A2 can go get it if A1 is the buy who caused it to go BC on the TI.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2011, 10:09pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
Not quite. If A1 fumbles or deflects the ball on a TI from FC into BC, he can go get it and be first to touch. But, I do not think A2 can go get it if A1 is the buy who caused it to go BC on the TI.
The exception doesn't restrict anyone from getting the ball if it's fumbled in the backcourt. As I understand the rule, it doesn't matter who retrieves the ball in the backcourt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 09, 2011, 10:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap View Post
Not quite. If A1 fumbles or deflects the ball on a TI from FC into BC, he can go get it and be first to touch. But, I do not think A2 can go get it if A1 is the buy who caused it to go BC on the TI.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
The exception doesn't restrict anyone from getting the ball if it's fumbled in the backcourt. As I understand the rule, it doesn't matter who retrieves the ball in the backcourt.
APG has this one right.

Currently (previously), the rule allowed anyone to retrieve it because TC wasn't established until the ball was held or dribbled by someone. The airborne exception only applies to the player who catches it in the air; if he tips it instead, anyone can retrieve/touch it in the BC without violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Control/Throw In After Made FG JW100 Basketball 26 Mon Feb 28, 2011 08:44am
Team Control during Throw in Remington Basketball 21 Fri Feb 11, 2011 05:59pm
Team control exception on throw ins Buckley11 Basketball 18 Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am
Team Control during a free throw? FrankHtown Basketball 15 Wed Oct 19, 2005 08:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1