The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2011, 09:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
From the OP:

"The official stays with both players and sees B5 extend his leg toward A1 as both are on the ground. It was not a full kick, but was an obvious extension and B5 was looking right at A1 when it happened. Contact was made on the torso/lower side of A1"

Since when is kicking an opponent an intentional foul? If he extends his leg, he makes contact, and the official calls a foul, it's got to be a kick, which is flagrant.
The official ruled that it was not violent or savage enough. And also that B5 was killed during rebounding action, but the official missed the contact. He felt that an Intentional would be good since the contact was not in a fighting manner, and since he missed a big elbow into B5 by A1 during rebounding.

I agree with what the rulebook says however about kicking. But I believe in the manner it happens also. It was a HTBT situation for sure. As for the observer I don't understand where he was coming from about a technical.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2011, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
The official ruled that it was not violent or savage enough. And also that B5 was killed during rebounding action, but the official missed the contact. He felt that an Intentional would be good since the contact was not in a fighting manner, and since he missed a big elbow into B5 by A1 during rebounding.
Whether it was violent or savage has nothing to do with it. Those terms apply to NON-fighting situations. Fighting is fighting. The violent, savage nature issue doesn't exist. If you swing or kick at an opponent and miss, it's still an ejection. And there's nothing violent or savage about a swing and miss.

He has to make a decision. Is it a kick or is it nothing? If it's not a kick, then there's no call at all. But if he calls a foul, it's kicking, kicking is fighting and the player is gone.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Tue May 31, 2011 at 10:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2011, 06:48am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Whether it was violent or savage has nothing to do with it.

He has to make a decision. Is it a kick or is it nothing? If it's not a kick, then there's no call at all. But if he calls a foul, it's kicking, kicking is fighting and the player is gone.
This is exactly what I thought when I read "he didn't think it was violent enough". Just didn't get here fast enough.

There are obviously non-flagrant fouls that can be committed with the leg (accidental trip, blocking, etc.), but in a situation where a player intentional extends the leg to strike an opponent. . . he gone!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2011, 09:34am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
This is exactly what I thought when I read "he didn't think it was violent enough". Just didn't get here fast enough.

There are obviously non-flagrant fouls that can be committed with the leg (accidental trip, blocking, etc.), but in a situation where a player intentional extends the leg to strike an opponent. . . he gone!
Let me ask this, because I think I'm envisioning this play differently.

Would it be different if the player attempted to trip his opponent as opposed to an attempt to kick his opponent?

Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
Contact was made on the torso/lower side of A1.
I missed this part, and now I'm picturing the play differently.

Flagrant personal.

The observer is still full of crap for suggesting an unsporting T for a contact foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Wed Jun 01, 2011 at 09:36am. Reason: Never mind
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2011, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
This is exactly what I thought when I read "he didn't think it was violent enough". Just didn't get here fast enough.

There are obviously non-flagrant fouls that can be committed with the leg (accidental trip, blocking, etc.), but in a situation where a player intentional extends the leg to strike an opponent. . . he gone!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Edit:

I missed this part, and now I'm picturing the play differently.

Flagrant personal.

The observer is still full of crap for suggesting an unsporting T for a contact foul.
Great...I was beginning to wonder why no other posters were seeing it as flagrant.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1