View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 31, 2011, 09:58pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCHSAA View Post
The official ruled that it was not violent or savage enough. And also that B5 was killed during rebounding action, but the official missed the contact. He felt that an Intentional would be good since the contact was not in a fighting manner, and since he missed a big elbow into B5 by A1 during rebounding.
Whether it was violent or savage has nothing to do with it. Those terms apply to NON-fighting situations. Fighting is fighting. The violent, savage nature issue doesn't exist. If you swing or kick at an opponent and miss, it's still an ejection. And there's nothing violent or savage about a swing and miss.

He has to make a decision. Is it a kick or is it nothing? If it's not a kick, then there's no call at all. But if he calls a foul, it's kicking, kicking is fighting and the player is gone.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Tue May 31, 2011 at 10:08pm.
Reply With Quote