The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 15, 2003, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Thumbs up Re: Legal Defense

Quote:
Originally posted by NCAAREF
NCAA Women's rules state that "a defender who establishes a position directly under the cylinder or behind the backboard when a dribbler becomes an airborne shooter is not in a legai guarding position, regardless if she got to the spot first". If contact occurs it is either incidental or a foul on the defensive player. The exception to this is if the dribbler is on a path parallel to the end line. In this case the position directly under the cylinder or behind the back board is legal. The key phrase is all of this is "airborne shooter." If the offense doesn't leave the floor for a shot, all bets are off and you make the block/charge call accordingly.
NCAA: My thoughts exactly. IN mens NC2a what is the position on this? I have only worked a couple of Mens games and do not have my off manual/rules book w/ me.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1