View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 16, 2003, 06:23am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Ron
In the NBA, a defender must have both feet outside of that semi-circle or any contact with a shooter is an automatic blocking foul.
This is not really accurate. First of all, the rule only applies to a secondary defender. The offensive player's primary defender can still take a charge in the Restricted Area. Secondly, slight contact can be ignored. It is not an "automatic" blocking foul. Thirdly, if the offensive player uses an arm to "clear out" the defender, it's an offensive foul, even if the secondary defender is inside the RA. Finally, the rule only applies when the play originates outside the "lower defensive box" (an imaginary rectangle extending from the bottom of the jump circle to the baseline, and 3 feet wider than the FT lane on each side).

I know nobody really cares about the NBA rules, but if we're going to talk about them, we might as well get them right.

Also, as for the NCAA men's ruling, officially it's the same as the Fed. There's even an AR on it, stating that it should be a charge. (I can't cite it, b/c I didn't bring my rulebooks to the Carribean with me ) But obviously, it is not always called that way, especially at the D1 level.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote