Quote:
Originally posted by NCAAREF
NCAA Women's rules state that "a defender who establishes a position directly under the cylinder or behind the backboard when a dribbler becomes an airborne shooter is not in a legai guarding position, regardless if she got to the spot first". If contact occurs it is either incidental or a foul on the defensive player. The exception to this is if the dribbler is on a path parallel to the end line. In this case the position directly under the cylinder or behind the back board is legal. The key phrase is all of this is "airborne shooter." If the offense doesn't leave the floor for a shot, all bets are off and you make the block/charge call accordingly.
|
NCAA: My thoughts exactly. IN mens NC2a what is the position on this? I have only worked a couple of Mens games and do not have my off manual/rules book w/ me.