The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 08, 2003, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
Quote:
Originally posted by LarryS
Since players (and balls) are where they were till they get where their going, I can see where this is a violation.
Larry
Again, you seem to miss my point. The ball is not in a backcourt status at the moment of the touch, or at least it does not need to be. The ball can be bounced in such a way that it bounces backcourt, then bounces frontcourt, then is touched, and it is still a violation - first to touch rule. The ball in this latte case has frontcourt status at the moment it is touched because it has bounced in the frontcourt after it bounced backcourt. But the key is that it was never touched by the defense after it went backcourt, so the violation still occurs when the offense touches first - regardless of the ball's current status.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1