![]() |
|
|
|||
Backcourt
Guys
A-1 is in her frontcourt control and looses the ball into the backcourt. As soon as a member of Team A touches in the backcourt I blow the whistle for a backcourt violation. My partner alerts me that he is sure the ball was tipped by a member of Team B. We decide that my whistle is inadvertant and give the ball back to Team A at the point of the touching. Is this correct? NFHS rules Not sure what the point of interruption is? Should we have gone to the arrow because Team A did not have control as I blew the whistle for the violation? |
|
|||
1) did A have team control in A's frontcourt?
2) Was A the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt? 3) Was A the first to touch the ball in the backcourt? If the answer to all three is "yes", then you have a backcourt violation on this play. If the answer to any of these three is "no", then you have no backcourt violation. |
|
|||
What did I miss?
BadNewsRef, I may have miss-read the OP, read it in terms of "was backcourt call correct?", not "did we do the right thing after the call was overturned?". Reading it that way, then you and Jurrassic Referee are correct. |
|
||||
#1 is technically right, although it could lead one to believe the team must have a player with control in the FC. We usually break it down into two parts.
1. Team control established. 2. Ball gains FC status. Your #s 3 and 4 have the same error, in that the ball does not have to be touched "in" the respective courts to qualify. A team need never touch the ball in the FC to have a violation. Same with the BC. We tend to word them: 3. The last to touch the ball before it goes into the BC. 4. The first to touch the ball after it went into the BC. This wording includes some violations that your wording would leave out.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Good points, thanks for the clarification.
I'm trying to imagine a scenario where we could have a violation without Team A touching the ball in the frontcourt at some point, but my mind is coming up empty. Can you give me an example? |
|
|||
Quote:
Team establishes FC status, they are the last to touch the ball before it bounces in BC. Defender chasing after this ball, do you blow it dead when the ball reaches BC, or do you allow defender to pick it up and drive?
__________________
Every time you blow your whistle, 50% of the people LOVE you, and 50% of the people HATE you. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Mar 10, 2011 at 04:36pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
2)the POI is where the ball was in the backcourt when you blew the inadvertant whistle. 3) No arrow because team control was never lost by team A. Team control is the deciding factor, not player control. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
backcourt? | missinglink | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jan 26, 2006 01:49am |
backcourt ? | sc/nc ref | Basketball | 3 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:47pm |
backcourt or no backcourt | cmathews | Basketball | 6 | Fri Feb 18, 2005 05:06pm |
Backcourt or not? | johnyd | Basketball | 5 | Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:03pm |
Backcourt??? | whistleone | Basketball | 3 | Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am |