![]() |
|
|||
The simple fact that a player touches the ball after it hits the backboard does not make it goaltending.
NCAA Rule 4 Section 34. Goaltending Art. 1. Goaltending shall have occurred when a defensive player touches the ball during a field-goal try and each of the following conditions is met: Exceptions: Rules 10-3.6; 10-6.1.i a. The ball is in its downward flight; and b. The entire ball is above the level of the ring and has the possibility, while in flight, of entering the basket and is not touching the cylinder. Art. 3. When the entire ball is above the level of the ring during a field-goal try and contacts the backboard, it is considered to be on its downward flight. In such a case, it is goaltending when the ball is touched by a player.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball off the top of the backboard | OklahomaRef | Basketball | 6 | Thu Feb 15, 2007 10:01am |
Ever have a bad day affect your officiating? | Huntin' Ref | Basketball | 12 | Mon Jan 15, 2007 03:40pm |
Ball over the backboard | easygoer | Basketball | 5 | Sun Apr 17, 2005 08:30am |
Does tip affect this? | Rock'nRef | Basketball | 2 | Thu Oct 16, 2003 02:01pm |
Ball in the backboard | bassfreak76 | Basketball | 11 | Mon Aug 11, 2003 01:28am |