The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Player regains ball

Looking for a rules ref/case play. A1 drives to the basket, B4 strips the ball while A1 is airborne, then A1 catches the ball while still airborne & lands. Official calls travel.
Is the official correct?

Thanks!
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 10:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
x
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 10:27am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,788
Violation ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Is the official correct?
Did he lose possession due to a touch by an opponent?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Exactly...
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 41
Play On

If the touch by B4 "strips" the ball and A1 has to catch the ball it sounds like there was loss of possession. No call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 10:41am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Do you know someone that called a travel on this play? What was his justification for the call?
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Some guys have to see it to believe it Rules ref please?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 11:08am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,788
Illegal Dribble ...

A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended,
unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Do you know someone that called a travel on this play? What was his justification for the call?
Play comes from my partners area, C & curls into the lane strong side. All he had was backs & butts when the strip occurred. At halftime I asked him what he saw on the play? Said the player landed with the ball. I told him what really happened & he still thinks he got it right. I don't feel too comfortable breaking down the basics & risk going 2 person for the next half, well half & a ot as it turned out last night. I told him I didn't agree but that's beside the point, the teaching point for us all here is, know the status of p/c when making travel calls. I thought you had backs & butts on the call... Anybody have a caseplay?
__________________
I gotta new attitude!

Last edited by tref; Sat Feb 12, 2011 at 11:13am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 11:16am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 21,788
Ask And You Will Receive (Luke 11:9-10) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Anybody have a caseplay?
4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the
ball out of A1’s hands;
(b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing
the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or
(d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it
bounces. RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation.
In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since
the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains
live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,127
4.44.3 SITUATION A:

A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1's hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

9.5.1 SITUATION:

A1 ends a dribble and then jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 partially blocks the shot, but A1 secures control again while still in the air. A1 returns to the floor and dribbles to the basket and scores. RULING: Legal maneuver. Both player control and team control ended when A1 released the ball. When A1 recovered he/she could dribble again similar to dribbling after catching a pass or rebound.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
"partner, that wasn't a travel. try holding your whistle longer and be 100% certain you saw the entire play correctly before putting air in the whistle. if you're going to tell me that it's a travel EVEN AFTER you know what really happend, then I suggest a spend a little more time studying the rule book and a little less time calling plays you didn't see"....
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 01:23pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,486
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpea View Post
"partner, that wasn't a travel. try holding your whistle longer and be 100% certain you saw the entire play correctly before putting air in the whistle. if you're going to tell me that it's a travel EVEN AFTER you know what really happend, then I suggest a spend a little more time studying the rule book and a little less time calling plays you didn't see"....

That's really how you talk to your partners?

The first 2 sentences I would only say to officials I am mentoring. The 3rd one I wouldn't say to anyone.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 12, 2011, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
That's really how you talk to your partners?

The first 2 sentences I would only say to officials I am mentoring. The 3rd one I wouldn't say to anyone.
Thanks Billy!!

I agree BNR... especially seeing how he has been calling since I've been in MS.

Gotta know who you're dealing with night to night as we can be quite a sensitive bunch, sometimes. The next day email method has worked well for me...
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 13, 2011, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by tref View Post
Some guys have to see it to believe it Rules ref please?
The traveling rule (4-44) does not prohibit the player's action in the play described, therefore legal.

The burden of proof is always on whoever claims that an infraction has occurred to prove it with a citation.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
player hand opposing player ball out of bounds?? Nagy0716 Basketball 2 Tue Nov 24, 2009 04:16am
Ref Collides with Player who has the Ball cshs81 Basketball 5 Fri Feb 08, 2008 07:54am
What is a player before he kicks the ball?? MJT Football 10 Mon Oct 10, 2005 02:49pm
6-Player B-Ball rainmaker Basketball 10 Tue Dec 17, 2002 01:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1