The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2009, 03:02am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 56
player hand opposing player ball out of bounds??

had this happen in a game..A1 was out of bounds in a throw in and had the ball across the "plane" and B1 took it from him...

legal or not legal??

high school and college??

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2009, 03:28am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Legal, as long as the ball is across the plane onto the court.
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 24, 2009, 04:16am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,460
Straight from the NFHS book.

. . . The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her
person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds area before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent in this situation may legally touch or grasp the ball.

The NCAA ruling is the same.

A.R. 103. Team A has been awarded a throw-in after a violation. A1, during
the throw-in, breaks the boundary plane with the ball and
extends the ball over the playing court. B1 causes a held ball.
The possession arrow favors Team A.
RULING: A1ís breaking the boundary plane and extending the ball
over the playing court does not violate throw-in provisions. B1 legally
grabbed a live ball
and caused a held ball. The ball shall be awarded to
Team A for an alternating-possession procedure.
(Rule 4-37 and 6-3.1.a)

A.R. 150. Thrower-in A1 breaks the plane of the boundary line by
extending the ball over the playing court during an alternatingpossession
procedure. B1 creates a held ball. The official awards
the ball to Team A since the alternating possession for the
throw-in did not end. Was the official correct?
RULING: The official was correct. An alternating-possession
throw-in ends when the throw-in ends or when the throw-in team
violates provisions of the throw-in. A1 has five seconds to release the
throw-in. The throw-in count shall end when the ball is released by
the thrower-in so that the ball goes directly into the playing court.
The throw-in shall end when a passed ball touches or legally touches
an inbounds player or when a player, who is on the playing court,
touches and causes the ball to be out of bounds, or when a throw-in
provision has been violated. Breaking the boundary plane with the
ball by extending the ball over the playing court is not a violation of
the throw-in provisions but the act does cause the ball to come into

(Rule 6-3.2 and 4-67.4 and .5)

A.R. 240. After a field goal by B1 with two minutes left to play:
(1) B2 reaches through the end-line plane and slaps the ball from
the hands of A1 or touches the ball as it is passed along the end
line after the score; or
(2) After a warning, B2 prevents the ball from being promptly put
in play by slapping the ball away.
RULING: In both plays, a player/substitute technical foul shall be
charged to B2 for delaying the game. This act shall also receive a
warning if one has not been previously issued for reaching through the
When A1, in making the throw-in, extends the ball through the end-line
plane into the playing court and B1 slaps the ball from the hands of A1,
without B1 breaking the plane above the end line, B1 has not committed
a violation because the ball is in play once it crosses the end line.

(Rule 10-3.8 and 10-3.11)
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball hits player already out of bounds Coach Bill Basketball 23 Sun Sep 27, 2009 08:59pm
Player to touch ball after going out of bounds kirtley29 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 12, 2006 08:25am
Player threatens opposing player TravelinMan Basketball 23 Mon May 31, 2004 12:51pm
Opposing Coach asks opposing player....... thumpferee Basketball 14 Fri May 16, 2003 10:17pm
Interest situation w/Coach and Player of opposing team. Jerry Blum Basketball 8 Wed Dec 11, 2002 01:49pm

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15pm.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1