The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 12:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
A situation was brought up to me by a colleage of mine. A1 is on the free throw line for an and one. The lead tells the players "2 shots". Obviously it should have been one shot. B1 rebounds and kinda just stands there with the ball in his hands and everyone else just standing there as well.

Trail blows his whistle and says it should have been one shot. They got together and ruled an inenvertant whistle and gave the ball to B at the baseline.

My question is What should have been done after the shot was taken and then the mistake was realized. I know that there was major lack of communication between the officials but did they handle the blunder correct? My gut is saying they did. What say you?
Johnsonboy,
Case Play 8.6.1 describes your play. Happy reading.....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Johnsonboy,
Case Play 8.6.1 describes your play. Happy reading.....
thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 12:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef View Post
Johnsonboy,
Case Play 8.6.1 describes your play. Happy reading.....
THat play has multiple players attempting to rebound. In my friends situation only one attempted the rebound
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
THat play has multiple players attempting to rebound. In my friends situation only one attempted the rebound
You might want to read it again.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
You might want to read it again.
"The missed shot is rebounded by B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 12:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Did you think to read (a) or (b) or did you decide to just read (c)?

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point.

RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue.

(a) is identical to your play.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 12:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Did you think to read (a) or (b) or did you decide to just read (c)?

8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw; or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound. The officials recognize their error at this point.

RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue.

(a) is identical to your play.
thank you for that. My book is rules by topic with some case play... apparently not all of it! Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
2 or 3 whistle game?

The C &/or the T can kill the administration before the FT is shot by blowing their whistle & have the L re-administer.
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1