The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2011, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 16
Free Throw Situation

Player A1 is fouled as is entitled to (A) 2 free throws and (B) a Bonus (1&1) free throw. After the ball is placed at the disposal of the shooter and before he shoots the attempt, A1 swears at opposing player. What is the application?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2011, 09:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
NFHS: shoot the free throws for the foul, then administer the technical.

NCAA: I believe you administer the technical first, then return to the POI.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2011, 09:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARef View Post
Player A1 is fouled as is entitled to (A) 2 free throws and (B) a Bonus (1&1) free throw. After the ball is placed at the disposal of the shooter and before he shoots the attempt, A1 swears at opposing player. What is the application?
Shoot in the order they happen. Foul first, T second.

A) A1 shoots 2 free throws, lane cleared. Any eligible member of B shoots 2 free throws, B gets ball half court.

B) A1 shoots bonus per rules, lane cleared. Any eligible member of B shoots 2 free throws, B gets ball half court.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 08, 2011, 09:24pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,223
Technical foul on A1.

Penalties are administered in order of occurrence.

A1 shoots 1 (or 2) free throws with the lane cleared.

Any B player then shoots 2 free throws for the Technical foul, with the lane cleared.

Throw-in for B at midcourt, opposite table.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 02:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 16
Here is my issue with applying in the order in which the fouls occurred. Rule 4-20, art 2: The free throw begins when the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, and art 3: ends when ... the ball becomes dead. My reading of this is the free throw ends in this situation when I blow the T. Am I wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 02:27am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARef View Post
Here is my issue with applying in the order in which the fouls occurred. Rule 4-20, art 2: The free throw begins when the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, and art 3: ends when ... the ball becomes dead. My reading of this is the free throw ends in this situation when I blow the T. Am I wrong?
The whistle would stop the play. A1 would then shoot his free throw(s) with the lane empty, followed by administration of the T.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 02:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
What if it was A1's second technical? Does coach A get to choose a player off the bench to enter the game and shoot teap A's freethrow(s)?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 02:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by shutupneff View Post
What if it was A1's second technical? Does coach A get to choose a player off the bench to enter the game and shoot teap A's freethrow(s)?
Yep. A DQ'd player must leave immediately. When a player that is due FTs is not able to continue for any reason, their sub will shoot the FTs.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 02:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARef View Post
Here is my issue with applying in the order in which the fouls occurred. Rule 4-20, art 2: The free throw begins when the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, and art 3: ends when ... the ball becomes dead. My reading of this is the free throw ends in this situation when I blow the T. Am I wrong?
The FT might end, but until it is taken or lost through a violation (not a foul), it remains due.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 02:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The FT might end, but until it is taken or lost through a violation (not a foul), it remains due.
Do you have a caseplay for this?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 04:07am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARef View Post
Here is my issue with applying in the order in which the fouls occurred. Rule 4-20, art 2: The free throw begins when the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, and art 3: ends when ... the ball becomes dead. My reading of this is the free throw ends in this situation when I blow the T. Am I wrong?
The free throw might have ended but Team A is still entitled to two shots. The only way they would lose one of those attempts is by committing a free throw violation or having a try miss.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Thu Feb 10, 2011 at 09:06am. Reason: grammar
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 05:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARef View Post
Here is my issue with applying in the order in which the fouls occurred. Rule 4-20, art 2: The free throw begins when the ball is at the disposal of the free thrower, and art 3: ends when ... the ball becomes dead. My reading of this is the free throw ends in this situation when I blow the T. Am I wrong?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ARef View Post
Do you have a caseplay for this?

Case 8.6.2 (2009-10 book) should do it. The first foul is a T with the second foul (flagrant in the case play, but irrelevant to the play at hand) occuring after the shooter has the ball. The ruling mentions taking the FTs for the T and then the FTs for the second foul.

Would you take away a FT if the team called a timeout after the shooter had the ball?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 10, 2011 at 05:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
The free throw might of ended but Team A is still entitled to two shots.
APG, imo you're better than this. C'mon man!
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 09:06am
APG's Avatar
APG APG is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
APG, imo you're better than this. C'mon man!
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2011, 10:27am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
APG, imo you're better than this. C'mon man!
Maybe he just does it to piss you off. That's a worthy cause.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free throw situation Jim Henry Basketball 3 Fri Jan 14, 2011 08:30am
Free Throw Situation walter Basketball 3 Sat Nov 25, 2006 07:45pm
Free Throw Situation rpirtle Basketball 5 Sun Dec 14, 2003 09:49pm
Free Throw Situation Viking32 Basketball 6 Mon Feb 17, 2003 03:21pm
Free throw situation Ron Pilo Basketball 11 Thu Jan 25, 2001 01:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1