The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to rpirtle Send a message via Yahoo to rpirtle
Someone recently brought the following situation to my attention:

Player A1 shoots the second of two free throws. The ball hits the front of the rim and then comes to rest between the flange and the backboard. Violation...ball goes to Team B.

I have been trying to find a case reference for this situation. Can anyone help me? Thanks again.
__________________
I'm getting what I want...by helping others get what they want.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 04:33pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,140
Lightbulb Not a violation.

It is an AP situation. Team A did not commit an violation. There is no where a violation applies here. It is just like the ball go stuck inbetween the rim and the backboard. The same issues apply. It just an AP situation, going to the team that has the arrow.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Not true. The only time such a situation is a violation is when the thrower lodges the ball or it comes to rest during a throw-in, without any other player having touched the ball. (6-3-3d, 9-2-8)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to rpirtle Send a message via Yahoo to rpirtle
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Not true. The only time such a situation is a violation is when the thrower lodges the ball or it comes to rest during a throw-in, without any other player having touched the ball. (6-3-3d, 9-2-8)
Thanks. What's the rule reference that says this is an AP arrow situation? I would like to go to these officials with something other than, "I disagree". Again, thanks.
__________________
I'm getting what I want...by helping others get what they want.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally posted by rpirtle
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Not true. The only time such a situation is a violation is when the thrower lodges the ball or it comes to rest during a throw-in, without any other player having touched the ball. (6-3-3d, 9-2-8)
Thanks. What's the rule reference that says this is an AP arrow situation? I would like to go to these officials with something other than, "I disagree". Again, thanks.
I posted them. 6-3-3d, 9-2-8
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 14, 2003, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 135
Send a message via AIM to rpirtle Send a message via Yahoo to rpirtle
Thanks.
__________________
I'm getting what I want...by helping others get what they want.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1