The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 90
Attempt At Wrong Basket

6th Grade girls game, A1 recieves inbounds pass from sideline, dribbles to wrong basket and shoots, she misses and moves to get her own rebound, I called traveling. Is this the correct call? because it was not a shot attempt she was basically passing the ball to herself. Was traveling correct??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 10:41am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
6th Grade girls game, A1 recieves inbounds pass from sideline, dribbles to wrong basket and shoots, she misses and moves to get her own rebound, I called traveling. Is this the correct call? because it was not a shot attempt she was basically passing the ball to herself. Was traveling correct??
See case book play 9.5(b)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 90
So after looking in the case book it appears I should have called a double dribble, not traveling.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
So after looking in the case book it appears I should have called a double dribble, not traveling.
correct
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 11:32am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
I never looked at it this way before, but if A-1 dribbles and makes a layup off Team B's backboard, do we always wave off Team B's points and go with a double dribble against A-1?

It also sounds to me like the points would count if the layup never hits the backboard.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 11:36am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I never looked at it this way before, but if A-1 dribbles and makes a layup off Team B's backboard, do we always wave off Team B's points and go with a double dribble against A-1?

It also sounds to me like the points would count if the layup never hits the backboard.
In this case the second "dribble" is not a dribble unless and until it comes back to the player who threw it.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 11:53am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
In this case the second "dribble" is not a dribble unless and until it comes back to the player who threw it.
Okay, so the "dribble" is complete on the touch from the backboard, and not the backboard itself. Got it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 01:17pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
Opponents Backboard = Floor ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Okay, so the "dribble" is complete on the touch from the backboard, and not the backboard itself. Got it. Thanks.
...in this case. Helps think about it.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
Okay, so the "dribble" is complete on the touch from the backboard, and not the backboard itself. Got it. Thanks.
No, the dribble was complete when the dribbler touched the ball with both hands or held it prior to throwing it at the wrong basket.

The ball touching the backboard doesn't constitute the start of a new dribble unless it comes back down without going through the basket. So if this "shot" is missed, it's an illegal dribble; if made, it's 2 points for the opponent and their ball underneath. Either way, the ball is dead when it comes back down.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 31, 2011, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
No, the dribble was complete when the dribbler touched the ball with both hands or held it prior to throwing it at the wrong basket.

The ball touching the backboard doesn't constitute the start of a new dribble unless it comes back down without going through the basket. So if this "shot" is missed, it's an illegal dribble; if made, it's 2 points for the opponent and their ball underneath. Either way, the ball is dead when it comes back down.
If it comes back down to the same player. If A1 "shoots" at B's basket and the ball hits the backboard and rebounds to A2, all we have is a bounce pass and the ball is live.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong Basket... MatthewPV Basketball 7 Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:22pm
Wrong basket Ch1town Basketball 20 Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:26am
Wrong Basket Dudly Basketball 6 Thu Mar 03, 2005 01:28am
wrong basket CK Basketball 16 Mon Oct 04, 2004 11:52pm
Wrong Basket Tweet Basketball 4 Sun Jan 11, 2004 11:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1