![]() |
|
|
|||
Reasonable space between defenders
This situation lead to a “T” on the Team A coach, so it got me to thinking….
I see this scenario a lot and have seen all three results, PC foul, Block foul, and NO call. 4-7-2c; 10-6-7, and 10.6.7 all put the "greater responsibility for contact" on the dribbler if two defenders are less than 3 feet apart. Same applies to a defender and the boundary line. B1 and B2 are in the lane with legal guarding position, @ 3 feet or closer apart. A1 tries to dribble between B1/B2. As A1 moves between, B1 leans or moves his hip/knee closer to B2. (sticks out his knee may be a better description) A1 crashes to the floor because of contact. I tend to have no call, as I view A1 is "responsible" for the contact and the result, but I recognize that B1 did not maintain his legal position. However, I do not see a requirement that B1 and B2 must even have established legal position, only that they are less than 3 feet apart. 4-7-1a & b, require legal guarding to be established, 4-7-1c does not. What say you?? How do you view/call this situation? Is there a reference interpretation I may be missing?
__________________
I read this forum almost every day, but rarely post. I have learned a lot!! Thanks to all who contribute! |
|
|||
The only thing the 3-foot reference means is that there is likely to be contact as the dribbler splits the defenders (or defender and the sideline) and to not automatically penalize the defenders unless they actually do something illegal. If they do, they have still fouled.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Me too.....
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! |
|
|||
bail out
Thanks for all the replies. I am a little surprise that everyone would go with the block, I expected some differences.
Change it a little. A1 is trying to split B1/B2 and the space is no doubt in your mind that the initial spacing is too close to for A1 to do it without contact. (that space being less than 3 feet and relevant to the players size and ability) Even if B1 moves closer in with a knee, aren’t we bailing A1 out for trying to go somewhere he "has the greater responsibility for contact" by calling a block? Not arguing, just trying to flesh out the situation more. Many around here would view the block as rewarding A1 for initiating contact he shouldn’t have.
__________________
I read this forum almost every day, but rarely post. I have learned a lot!! Thanks to all who contribute! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
Case book play 10.6.7 unequivocably and definitively says it's a foul on the dribbler. There's no "greater responsibility for contact" language attached to the ruling.
|
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Not sure I had ever read this case play before. Whoever wrote this case play thinks three feet is necessary for a dribbler to pass between two defenders without contact?? 32 inches is a common size for interior doorways.
Shaquille O'Neal could pass between 2 defenders 3 feet apart without contact.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
LGP or not... stick your knee out= BLOCK.
I wouldn't care if the defenders were kissing each other... yes the greater responsibility for contact is on the dribbler, but once B stuck his/her knee out that all goes out the window, Tweet!-Block!
|
|
|||
+1 As far as I'm concerned, 3 feet has no special significance in this case. The point of this case play is that the defenders were positioned close enough together that the dribbler could not pass between without contact. The actual measurement involved would vary greatly with the size of the players involved.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Not really. I was addressing the case book play but I should have been addressing the OP. If a defender sticks a knee out, it should be a block.
My bad. |
|
||||
Your play (OP) is not the play where this case play applies. It's where a player tries to squeeze through two other players. When that happens, inevitably, the dribbler will travel as he tries to complete the move. If there's incidental contact there, pass. If there's significant contact caused by A1 trying to go through the defenders (who don't do something unusual like try to stick a leg out), call a PC foul.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Offensive Player Tries to Split Defenders | Spence | Basketball | 14 | Thu Oct 30, 2008 09:29pm |
HBP Reasonable Effort... | bigblue68 | Softball | 17 | Thu Mar 27, 2008 01:29pm |
Does this sound reasonable? For Officials... | KurtBryan | Football | 6 | Sat Dec 29, 2007 05:32pm |
Between two defenders | dan74 | Basketball | 7 | Tue Jan 16, 2007 01:04am |
What is a reasonable time you expect to be notified for a game that's been cancelled? | spots101 | Baseball | 12 | Fri Jun 14, 2002 06:06am |