The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Test time: Team B is in the bonus. A1 has the ball for
the throw-in. A2 holds B2 to get A3 open for the inbounds
pass. Foul is called. What happens next under NF & NCAA
rules?
You bury the survivors in Canada!
Thanks. Now I have to clean adult beverage off my monitor, and keyboard, and desk....

Geez!
Pass the Windex.
[/B]
I'm still trying to figure out why I can't pass the last guy in the race.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 08:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
I'm still trying to figure out why I can't pass the last guy in the race.[/B][/QUOTE]Oooooh,that'd be painful!

May I suggest a mild laxative?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 411
Thanks Chuck.
Thinking more about this play, the ball HAD been released by the thrower.
And while I absolutely agree about not being "over-officious", like I said, the defender had hold of the offensive players jersey and it was stretched quite far.
By rule ( and trust me, I'm not a "rule book" official)
and intentional foul is one where an "obvious advantage" is gained. That's what happened on this play. (I went right to my rule book after the game, ready to sho the coach the "rule" if he wanted to "talk."
By the way, even though we don't want to be over-officious,
we also can't be afraid to make the tough call when it is the RIGHT call, and needs to be made, NO MATTER WHAT THE TIME AND SCORE IS! IMO

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
I'm still trying to figure out why I can't pass the last guy in the race.[/B]
Oooooh,that'd be painful!

May I suggest a mild laxative? [/B][/QUOTE]

Looks like it's just we 2 here now...I weighed Woody the
other day, 70 lbs! 6 months old...quite a pooch. he's
loving the brisk weather & the falling leaves.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by DrakeM
Thanks Chuck.
Thinking more about this play, the ball HAD been released by the thrower.
Drake, I know we usually talk NCAA and NF, but by the NBA book (or WNBA book) does it matter if the ball has been released? I don't have my Q&A with me. Even if the throw-in has been released, would it still be considered an away-from-the-play foul? I just can't remember if the away-from-the-play provision ends when the ball is released or when it is touched inbounds.

Quote:
even though we don't want to be over-officious,
we also can't be afraid to make the tough call when it is the RIGHT call, and needs to be made, NO MATTER WHAT THE TIME AND SCORE IS! IMO
Couldn't agree more. Well said.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Test time: Team B is in the bonus. A1 has the ball for
the throw-in. A2 holds B2 to get A3 open for the inbounds
pass. Foul is called. What happens next under NF & NCAA
rules?
1)NF-Personal foul on A2. B2 will shoot bonus FT's.
2)NCAA-team control foul on A2.B gets ball OOB for throw in.(I think).

How'd I do on the NCAA one,Slappy? [/B]
Ya done good, JR. Dan is napping, I think. But you're exactly right about the NCAA ruling. If, as in the original scenario, the official still had the ball, then it would be an intentional technical foul and B would shoot 2 FTs and get the ball at midcourt.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 411
Actually on THIS particular play, whether or not the ball
had been released WOULD factor into the play. If the ball had been released, then this would be just a normal foul, since the ball was intended for the player that was held.
If the ball was not released, then we could have an away from the play foul, or if the foul was committed across the floor on someone "not involved in the play".
Or if we're not under two minutes, then we have the "foul before the ball is released" option, which is two shots regardless of the penalty situation.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 411
By the way Chuck,
Did you ever get paid for your USBL game?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
Looks like it's just we 2 here now...I weighed Woody the
other day, 70 lbs! 6 months old...quite a pooch. he's
loving the brisk weather & the falling leaves. [/B][/QUOTE]Wow!! I was gonna ask ya how my favorite little ball-less buddy was doing.Ever notice how eunuchs really pile on the weight after....?
Seriously,you thought of getting a saddle for him for the kids? Or maybe when Chuck comes to visit?

I am now running for cover! Nighty-night!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Drake, yes, I got paid for that last USBL game. Got the check about a month ago. Maybe I'll go back after all

Where is the rule for getting two shots on a foul committed before the ball is released on a throw-in with more than 2 minutes left in the game? I don't remember ever hearing or reading that. Help me out? Thanks
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 411
Chuck,
Rule 12B Sec I-(8)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 25, 2002, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 411
The exception is the away from the play foul.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 26, 2002, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Found it, Drake. Thanks. Also pulled out my Q&A and the foul under 2 minutes after the ball has been released on the throw-in is the very first first question in the book. LOL. Common foul. Good call.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 26, 2002, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: S.E. Iowa
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Lead is about to administer an endline throw-in to Team A, but Lead is still holding the ball.
A2 prematurely starts her part of the "In-bound" play and gets grabbed by B2.
Center made a holding call.

What's your call?
No call because of 4-19-1-note, this rule may also apply to another post discussing false double fouls.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 26, 2002, 11:58am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Stan
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Lead is about to administer an endline throw-in to Team A, but Lead is still holding the ball.
A2 prematurely starts her part of the "In-bound" play and gets grabbed by B2.
Center made a holding call.

What's your call?
No call because of 4-19-1-note, this rule may also apply to another post discussing false double fouls.
Reference is not applicable,Stan,unless you combine it with R4-19-5c.Correct call is an intentional technical foul because the ball is dead in this sitch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1