![]() |
|
|
|||
There is such as a think as an "over the back" but usually it is more of through the back".
As far as the play in question, after looking at it several times and pausing it at the point of play, if I had to call anything I would call a hold on the GA player as the UT player had both hands on the ball and the GA player was holding onto his arm as he was falling into him. The question you have to answer is if the UT player truly had control of the ball at the point of the potential foul. I think he did after looking at it several times but at first glance in real time I would have went with no foul. Robby Last edited by RobbyinTN; Wed Jan 19, 2011 at 11:23pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
True, in the rule book there is no "over the back" violation but there are times a push from behind during a rebound is an "over the back"/"through the back" foul; however, I have never reported a "over the back" foul at the table
![]() I did have a rookie U one night that called "over the back" and used some weird mechanic I had never seen before or since ![]() |
|
|||
If you watch the replay from the court level camera at the opposite end of the court you will see Williams was actually moving backwards away from the Georgia player when grabbed the rebound.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
Yep - you got it. I told him at half time that "over the back" wasn't a valid call and his mechanic certainly wasn't in the book. I tried to explain the difference between going over teh top of someone to get the rebound without fouling and a push from behind to get to the ball. I am not sure he "got it" but at least there were no other weird mechnics that evening
![]() |
|
|||
Actually the correct call, by rule, without a doubt would be 3 seconds. Williams enters the lane at :07 ... I know, I know, we would never call it in that situation. But still, that is clearly UGA's best argument
|
|
|||
I doubt that would be called in ANY situation ANYWHERE. Only a fanboy would ever dream of arguing that one.
|
|
|||
Quote:
As for the play/call. Looked right to me. The UT rebounder was jumping away from the basket.....not likely to be a foul on him unless he grabs the player in front and drags him back too.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jan 20, 2011 at 02:23am. |
|
|||
I've said this before. Isn't the "there is no such thing as over the back" thing about to outlive his usefulness? Don't we know what they're asking for?
"Come on ref! That's a pushing foul on that guy trying to rebound over my guy who had inside position. I think he displaced him!" Nobody complains when they yell "Walking!" That's not in the books either.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Foul where distance gained prior to foul | wwcfoa43 | Football | 15 | Sun Feb 20, 2011 06:04pm |
Can you just call a team foul if you are not sure who the foul is on? Diebler | biggravy | Basketball | 18 | Sun Dec 13, 2009 07:20pm |
Personal Foul, then Technical Foul | jdw3018 | Basketball | 7 | Sat Dec 02, 2006 05:35am |
offensive foul, defensive foul or no call? | thereluctantref | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 13, 2006 01:12pm |
Anger over referee's foul calls triggers a bigger foul after game | BktBallRef | Basketball | 10 | Mon Mar 06, 2006 02:36am |