The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 10:08am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
As Camron stated, the dribbler cannot push a defender out of the way.

However, I'm guessing the defender had LGP anyway from my experience seeing plays as you describe it. Why do you say the defender did not have LGP?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
As Camron stated, the dribbler cannot push a defender out of the way.

However, I'm guessing the defender had LGP anyway from my experience seeing plays as you describe it. Why do you say the defender did not have LGP?
was moving toward the ball handler.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 10:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post
was moving toward the ball handler.
When contact was made?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
When contact was made?
let's say yes.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 11:17am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post
let's say yes.
I'm not convinced, based on your use of the word "set" that you understand LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post
let's say yes.
In your OP you said, "However, A1 sticks her arm out while dribbling and initiates the contact." Does this mean that contact likely wouldn't have happened if A1 hadn't done this (or that B1 would have been set my the time contact happened?)

If that's what you meant, then it's a foul on A1.

If that's NOT what you meant, then I'm likely to see A1's actions as not initiating contact, but as protecting herself from contact. I would give the benefit of the doubt to the offense and call this a block.

You could, by rule, have a double foul here, but it would be rare where that would be the correct call for the game.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 16, 2011, 11:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDorian37 View Post
let's say yes.
Okay, but 99% of these plays I see, B1 stops moving forward prior (sometimes barely) to contact.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charge/Block? Stripes1950 Basketball 13 Mon Mar 14, 2005 03:16pm
CHARGE OR BLOCK 2nd RUBIERA Basketball 2 Tue Feb 22, 2005 12:00pm
block/charge oc Basketball 52 Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm
Block/Charge jcash Basketball 55 Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm
Block/charge 164troyave Basketball 41 Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1