The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 13, 2011, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member

Lucked into a Varsity Boys' Game

I'm in my fourth year, and got my first varsity girls' game this year, in a tip-off tournament. The rest of my schedule is JV-B. We had a snowstorm Tuesday night, and it was forecasted in advance so many schools cancelled JV games and moved up varsity games to 6:30 (normally 8:00). That's what happened to my JV game, which was scheduled for after the JH JV and JH C (aka 7th grade) games I had at 4 & 5. One of the varsity guys was there as my partner, and the other was ~20 miles away for afternoon games.

Since the guy traveling was cutting it close, I stuck around for the varsity game. I went out at the 15-minute mark and we prepared in case he didn't show. The AD came over and suggested that since I was staying anyway, we could just do three-man when the other varsity guy showed up. My partner was good with that. The other guy arrived at about the four-minute mark and he liked the idea too, so we did three-man.

I've done some three-man in scrimmages so I wasn't too uncomfortable with that. One team was playing a zone, so the opponents were changing sides with the ball quite a bit, and it took me a bit to figure out when to crossover as the lead. I didn't know where to stand on the timeouts but my partners helped me with that. I had a couple double whistles--one for OOB on "my" sideline when I was the lead, and another for a player-control foul in the lane, but the drive was from the C's side and the contact was in the middle so he took it. Fortunately I held my signals in both cases and deferred.