The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 02:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Wrap It Up ???

Regarding this play, and all the various permutations, would it be safe to say the if the free throw shooter did not get two shots then this could be corrected under the time limits of the corectable error rule? Would it be also safe to say that the throwin error could only be corrected up to, but not including, the point at which the erroneous throwin was completed?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE
7.5.2 SITUATION B: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 02:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Regarding this play, and all the various permutations, would it be safe to say the if the free throw shooter did not get two shots then this could be corrected under the time limits of the corectable error rule? Would it be also safe to say that the throwin error could only be corrected up to, but not including, the point at which the erroneous throwin was completed?
I don't believe so. The throw-in error can also be corrected at the same time as the free throw provided there hasn't been a change in possession after the game continued without the merited free throw.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 02:22pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Still Searching For A Simple Answer ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
I don't believe so. The throw-in error can also be corrected at the same time as the free throw provided there hasn't been a change in possession after the game continued without the merited free throw.
So, A1 misses the second shot of the erroneous one and one. Team B rebounds the missed shot. When is it too late to give the ball back to Team A because the foul was intentional?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So, A1 misses the second shot of the erroneous one and one. Team B rebounds the missed shot. When is it too late to give the ball back to Team A because the foul was intentional?
That's a good question we haven't covered in this thread yet. Since A1 shot two free throws, this isn't an issue of not awarding merited free throws but of failing to award a throw-in which is not correctable. I would say you have a period of a second or two to realize the ball should be dead beyond which you have committed an uncorrectable error. From a technical point of view, when the clock starts is most likely the point of no return.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 04, 2011, 02:33pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So, A1 misses the second shot of the erroneous one and one. Team B rebounds the missed shot. When is it too late to give the ball back to Team A because the foul was intentional?
A1 got both of his free throws, once B has a live ball on the court, I'd say it's too late based on the precedent of the case plays already mentioned.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failure to wear required equipment bigjohn Football 5 Tue Oct 21, 2008 12:23am
Failure to Slide Rufus Baseball 41 Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:43pm
Failure to award Free Throws - Correctable When? refnrev Basketball 18 Wed Nov 15, 2006 04:09am
Cards-Mets, 8/8 - Failure to retouch bigwes68 Baseball 2 Tue Aug 10, 2004 07:49am
Failure to Shake Hands After DQ FallCaller Wrestling 1 Wed Dec 24, 2003 08:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1