![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
What We've Got Here Is Failure To Communicate. (Cool Hand Luke) ...
We've had a few threads recently about correctable errors, noncorrectable errors, and mistakes, such as coaches requesting and beng granted an excess timeout that later turns out not to be excessive. And players who have been disqualified for five fouls, and it's later discovered that they really didn't have five fouls. All ugly situations. Well, here's another one that happened to a buddy in a recent junior varsity game.
Lead official calls an intentional foul on B1 who fouled A1 in the act of shooting. Ball does not go in. Lead properly signals the intentional foul at the spot of the foul, and reports it as such to the table. Old trail does not see the intentional foul signal, and, as new lead, lines up players to rebound A1's two shots. New trail does not realize that there is a problem. A1's two shots are successful. Team B takes the last successful free throw out of bounds and successfully makes a throwin to a Team B player. At the next whistle, Team A coach asks the officials why they didn't get the ball back at the site of the intentional foul? Any way to correct this? What if A1 missed the second shot, any way to correct? What if A1 wasn't in the act of shooting a missed the first half of a one and one, anyway to corect?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
According to a previous post by Camron Rust "Team B threw in a dead ball. The ball would have only become live had team A taken it OOB for the throwin."
Messy situation |
|
|||
You are right, 7.5.2 A Throw in by wrong team by mistake.
|
|
||||
The error here is failing to award the throwin to the proper team. Definitely no way to correct this once the throwin has been completed.
Once B's throwin pass is legally touched in bounds, it can no longer be corrected. If one of the two FTs had been shot, you can correct by pulling everyone off the lane. If he misses the 2nd and B earns the rebound, I think it's too late to correct, then, too. Now, if the P had given a 1 and 1, and the first was missed with B getting the rebound, that gets tricky. Failure to give the FT is a correctable error, but the throwin is not. However, I'd say give him his FT with the lane cleared and give A the throwin based on 2.10.1A.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
We can correct the missed free throw, but will resume from the point of interruption (B's throw in) since there was a change of possession. Right? |
|
|||
Quote:
2.10.1 situation a |
|
|||
Avoidable....
Quote:
Situations such as intentional or technical fouls should be covered in our pregames. If I have one of these situations come up, I meet with one of my partners and explain what was called, how the free throws will be handled (who the shooter on the IF is, any eligible player on the TF), and how/where the following throw-in will be administered. Also, I will meet with one of my partners (if my other partner didn't beat me there) and get this information from him/her if I did not make the call. It only takes a few seconds on the court and keeps us out of many situations that only lead to trouble. Just a little something I picked up at camp one summer. |
|
|||
Quote:
And I'll add that on a "T" to make sure the FT's will be taken at the correct basket....
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! Last edited by TimTaylor; Tue Jan 04, 2011 at 02:03pm. |
|
|||
Wrap It Up ???
Regarding this play, and all the various permutations, would it be safe to say the if the free throw shooter did not get two shots then this could be corrected under the time limits of the corectable error rule? Would it be also safe to say that the throwin error could only be corrected up to, but not including, the point at which the erroneous throwin was completed?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
THROW-IN BY WRONG TEAM BY MISTAKE
7.5.2 SITUATION B: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Failure to wear required equipment | bigjohn | Football | 5 | Tue Oct 21, 2008 12:23am |
Failure to Slide | Rufus | Baseball | 41 | Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:43pm |
Failure to award Free Throws - Correctable When? | refnrev | Basketball | 18 | Wed Nov 15, 2006 04:09am |
Cards-Mets, 8/8 - Failure to retouch | bigwes68 | Baseball | 2 | Tue Aug 10, 2004 07:49am |
Failure to Shake Hands After DQ | FallCaller | Wrestling | 1 | Wed Dec 24, 2003 08:05pm |