![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Hope that clears that up for you. Quote:
My question to you is are you going to go with the timeout or the held ball? It's a real SIMPLE question. But I understand why you're playing dumb. You don't want to answer my play because it will prove my point. Thanks, I have your answer.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Thu Dec 30, 2010 at 04:57pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The play isn't really different than a player in the air making a TO request before he lands OOB. YOU have to decide if the TO request was made before the player landed OOB. In the situation being discussed, just replace "landed OOB" with a "held ball". You call 'em both the same way. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Dec 30, 2010 at 05:53pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If BOTH A1 and B1 have their hands on the ball in a similar manner, by definition, you have two choices. They either both have player control or neither does. If you say that A1 has PC, then you're also saying B1 has PC. If you're saying B1 doesn't have PC, you're saying that A1 doesn't have PC. The definition of player control doesn't support any other set of options. Then you add the held ball rule which establishes that neither player has control when they both have their hands on the ball. So, no one can call timeout once both players have their hands on the ball....neither has player control. Player control and being in control of the ball are synonymous. If the timeout request comes BEFORE team B gets their hands on the ball...timeout. That is simple...the order of the whistles doesn't matter. Your play implies it does and your play doesn't indicate WHEN team B actually got their hands on the ball relative to the timeout request. The officials have to figure out which occurred first, not who blew thier whistle the quickest.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Dec 30, 2010 at 08:33pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Putting Time on the Clock for Requested Time Out | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 10 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:20pm |
| Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster | SoInZebra | Basketball | 122 | Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm |
| time expired/time outs | cloverdale | Basketball | 14 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:06am |
| Another long time listener, first time caller | Fifth And Goal | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am |
| When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? | Deion | Softball | 1 | Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am |